Why you should try to be more sustainable

Four weeks of shorter showers

Andres McMillan
2 min readMar 24, 2019

My name is Andres McMillan and I am a 8th grade student at Oyster Adams. I am doing a project for my science class called the Do One Thing (DOT) project, where we are changing something in our lives to be more sustainable. I have decided to take shorter showers. The point of this project is so that we can take a stand and fight climate change and maybe encourage others to do the same. The reason I chose to take shorter showers was because I noticed that the average person uses 80 to 100 gallons of water per day according to the USGS. For this project I had to have a baseline of how many gallons of water I used every time I took a shower for one week. In that week I used 2,509 gallons of water. In my opinion I think this is a lot and I’m only one person.

Our earth is going through a problem that only we can solve. It’s not too late. This is why I challenge you to change an aspect of your life — whatever you can. We can save our planet.

--

--

Andres McMillan

I am a student at OA doing a project for my science class