Your Creativity Is No Joke

Bonnie L. Boucek
2 min readMar 30, 2023

An Author’s Source of Inspiration

Photo by Karly Santiago on Unsplash

IDENTITY

I’m a writer but feel incomplete.

I write but sense emptiness.

It’s what I do but often appear lost.

A myriad of emotions run the gauntlet when I cannot write. Such an ingrained part of my identity, I don’t know how I would handle the reality of never being able to write again.

I won’t be cliché and say, “I’d die”. Besides, I’m not a teenage drama queen. A middle-aged snarky one? Maybe. On bad health days. However, I believe a part of my soul would, in fact, perish. Until all that remains is an empty husk of what was once a vital, vibrant life.

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

THE WELL

Creativity is a well that needs to be nourished and supported and cuddled. It must be respected. Most of all it should be loved and used.

We writers are creatures of habit. A writer might have a favorite pen or pencil for use when either writing or editing a written piece. Perhaps a playlist of songs to set the mood/atmosphere for crafting that perfect scene. Mayhap the silence of darkness at three o’clock in the morning…

--

--

Bonnie L. Boucek

Inspired by life’s experiences, she became an Author, Fibromyalgia Creative Coach, Poet, Visionary