The Marvelous Land of Oz By L. Frank Baum

Book Wayfarer
1 min readJul 25, 2023

--

First posted here.

Strange story in Oz. Magic, war, creatures brought to life for surprisingly simple tasks, but then show some of their personalities as the book takes them through various adventures throughout one area of their bounded land. Overall the story is strong and Baum leaves the reader with a couple twists near the end to clean up the story. A pleasant little addition to the extensive descriptions of the different people and lands we soon learn more about, but I believe this is the last of the Oz books I’ll be reading. It turns out the rest of the series becomes quite repetitive and preachy in the political area, so I think I’ll make this the last one, which I’m fine with. It was fun and I’ll think back on them fondly. For my review of, Ozma of Oz.

--

--