The Clown — A Short Story

Urvashi Kaushik
4 min readJan 16, 2024

--

I love writing short, terrifying stories and wanted to share some of them on my Medium. I hope you like it!

On Halloween night, I decided to explore an abandoned mansion near the woods to record a video for my YouTube. I usually explore alone and at night.

At 8 PM, I loaded my things into the back of the truck and started my journey. The sky was very dark that day, and there was no moon.

The road was deserted. And there was no car in sight. I felt a bit uneasy but shrugged it off. Because it was very normal for me. I’ve explored tons of spooky places and never got into any trouble. I also carry my shotgun with me, just in case.

I arrived at the mansion after an hour; the mansion was surrounded by large boundary walls and a very ancient gate, a kind from the Victorian era. It was beautiful in an unnerving way.

The gate was slightly open, so I got inside with my camera and flashlight. Thick bushes were growing outside the mansion, so I struggled to reach the main building.

I was taking in the scene before me when I reached the porch. The mansion looked like a Victorian castle. It was kind of beautiful to look at, so I decided to take some pictures. I saw a movement in the window above me when I clicked the picture. But I didn’t give it much mind and thought it might be the trick of the light.

I was looking through my pictures when I heard a sound that seemed like someone was walking. I turned on the flashlight and looked around, “Hello,” I said, but there was no response, and the sound stopped abruptly. I thought it might be a mouse or something.

I wanted to go inside, but the house was boarded up from every direction. So, it took me a while to find an open window. I hopped inside with my flashlight and camera and started to explore.

The window led me to this old Victorian bedroom with a wooden floor and a high ceiling. The bed was huge; it looked big and beautiful from some fairytale movie, with old transparent curtains on either side. The room was old, but it looked like it was being maintained. It was clean, and there was no dust like someone had cleaned it up.

I didn’t give it much mind. I turned on my camera and flashlight and recorded the entire room interior. Then, I decided to see the other parts of the mansion. Just as I was about to open the bedroom door, I heard footsteps outside the room, and they were coming closer.

The footsteps stopped abruptly; I waited for 5–10 minutes because I was scared that there might be some animal or intruder. I cannot be scared at this point. If there’s someone dangerous in here, then I have to protect myself, so I thought I would run, but I had to record the video, so I loaded my shotgun and opened the door slowly with the flashlight in the other hand.

There was no one there and not even a single sound. So, I recorded my 20–30-minute video showing several mansion rooms. I’ve recorded enough for my YouTube. Just as I was about to head to the room from where I came inside. I heard noises again, like someone was walking on the upper floor with some stick or something and dragging it along the floor.

I was at the foot of the staircase, so I hid behind it and waited with my shotgun, but no one descended the stairs.

Once again, I was puzzled that there were noises in this house, but I couldn’t see anything, or this house might be haunted. I was so scared that I didn’t want to go upstairs to see it; it was pitch black.

I was so unnerved at this point that I collected everything and turned on the flashlight. I started down the hallway of the room from where I came.

I was walking towards the room when I heard noises again; I turned around with my flashlight and saw this tall figure with this scary clown mask holding a large axe with a sick grin playing on his lips.

I ran towards the room with the window and was trying to open the door when this sick man was coming in slow motion with that sinister grin and dragging his axe on the floor. I tried to locate my shotgun but couldn’t find it. I might have lost it when I was running. I was beyond terrified.

He stopped abruptly and just looked at me with this blank expression. I pulled the door with strength, but it wouldn't budge.

Suddenly, he charged toward me with his axe in the sky. And I screamed.

To be continued….

If you liked this first part of the story, press the clap button and follow me for more such short stories in the future. Thank you for reading! ❤

--

--