A Journey’s End: Embracing Change and Cherishing Memories on My Last Day at Amal Academy

Saba Gul
5 min readFeb 10, 2023

--

by Saba Gul

It’s hard to believe that the day we all dreaded has finally arrived — 5th of February 2023, our last day at Amal academy. It feels like only yesterday that we were all eager to start this journey, not realizing how much it would change us. As I sit here and reflect on my time at Amal, I am filled with mixed emotions. I am sad to leave this place that has become a second home to me, but I am also grateful for the experiences and memories I have created here.

I arrived at Amal as a timid individual, not knowing what to expect. But, as I look back now, I realize that I have come a long way. I have made friends who have become a part of my life, and I have learned more than I ever thought I would. The teachers here have helped me grow personally at every level.

As we all gathered in the computer lab of UET for the last time, I could see the sadness in everyone’s eyes. We all knew that this is the end of a fun & learning period and that our lives will never be the same again. But, at the same time, we are were excited for the future and the opportunities that await us.

The last gathering with Amal family is one that I will never forget. It was filled with laughter, tears, and memories that will last a lifetime. We were bonding with each other more than ever, even though all of us were sad, we had a great time and made the last day memorable for each other. It felt like a therapy to those saddened hearts.

In the session, most of the fellows shared journey of their improvement and growth, and their emotional attachment with the fellowship as well as the fellows. In that moment, I realized the power of connection and the impact it can have on someone’s life. We all need someone to lean on at times, and by offering support and encouragement, we can help, to lift each other up, just like we did in these three months and experienced magical outcomes in each one of us.

This experience has taught me the importance of being there for others, and it is something that I will carry with me for the rest of my life. Whether it’s a simple conversation or a helping hand, the power of connection is something that should never be underestimated.

In sense of sadness about leaving behind the close connections I have made with my fellow students, I realized that it is possible to maintain these relationships even after we have gone our separate ways. We can still manage to keep in touch through reunions, mega project collaborations, participating in online communities and by connecting through our social accounts.

It always takes effort to maintain connections, but the rewards are worth it. By making an effort to stay in touch and participate in meaningful activities, I can continue to nurture the relationships I have built with my fellows at Amal.

After a therapeutic session, we all went to restaurant together for lunch. As I sat there at the restaurant, surrounded by my academy family, I was filled with emotions. That day marked our last gathering before we all go our separate ways, and I couldn`t help but feel a sense of sadness wash over me. However, at the same time, I was also filled with joy and gratitude for the experiences and memories we have created together.

While we all sat at the table, laughing and reminiscing about our time at academy, I could feel the bond that we share becoming stronger. We have been through so much together and have supported each other through thick and thin. And, at the restaurant, we knew that this is not the end but merely the beginning of a new chapter in our lives.

The food was delicious, but it was not just the taste that made that meal special. It was the conversations and the laughter that filled the air. It was the memories that we were making and the promises we made to keep in touch. It was the bond that we have formed and the love we have for each other. I felt grateful for the whole experience and for the friends that I have made here.

Amal academy will always hold a special place in my heart, and I will never forget the memories and experiences I have created here. I am grateful for the skills I learnt here, the friendships, and the growth & improvement that I have achieved during my time at academy.

To my friends, we have shared this journey together, and we will continue to support each other in the future. I want you to know that you will always be a part of my life and that I am so lucky to have you all by my side.

To my teachers, sir Hammad & sir Afnan, you have always inspired me and motivated me to do better each day and I owe the completion of this successful journey to your efforts, support and hard-work in these three months. Thank you, for being amazing PM & PA ever, batch 259 was indeed lucky to have you two.

Thank you Amal, for the laughter, the tears, and the memories. I know that wherever life takes us, we will always have each other’s backs, we will always stay “Amal Alumni”.

--

--