Boomer Perrault
4 min readJan 24, 2019

IMPORTANCE OF SELF GROWTH

Now I could get all scientific with you (don’t worry, I will in a future post), but instead I just wanted to quickly talk about self growth from my own point of view.

I grew up very privileged. Never had to worry about food, a place to sleep, getting a job. Always had new clothes. Took a family vacation every year. You could say I hit the jackpot. The biggest downfall to this type of upbringing however, is the absence of that fire. That hunger to be better and achieve more. When you don’t have to work for a lot of what you have, you tend to be a bit lazier.

It wasn’t until I was 25 years old that I ever thought about the term, “self growth.” My friend invited myself and another one of our friends over. He had just finished reading his first self help book and still on that motivational high, he wanted to share some of what he had learned. We spent a solid two hours at his house discussing the importance of becoming the best version of ourselves, where we want to be in the future, our weaknesses, etc.

I was instantly hooked.

It’s been about three years since that day and without question, as I look back every year, I can say with certainty that I am closer to my ultimate fitness goals, closer to my business/financial goals, and light years ahead of where I previously was with my mental health. I love setting goals, planning, and achieving. I love the feeling of accomplishing something that was a pain in the ass to accomplish. I am in such a better place all around now then I have ever been in my life and am quite confident I will be saying the same thing in a year.

Now you may not get excited to hit goals like me. You may be totally fine with where you are in life. You may think you’re completely happy- and I completely get that. If you’re truly, truly happy, then it is totally fine. If however, it’s just an excuse to not go after what you want, than you are where I once was. The first 25 years of my life I was totally complacent, unmotivated, content. Even when I first started on this personal development route, it was a rocky road. I wouldn’t hit a lot of the goals. I would fall off going after any of them for a bit. But just starting after these things helped me realize that I was capable of so much more than I was allowing myself to do. I didn’t have to work a job I disliked. I was in good shape, but could be in great shape. I could get to a point where everyday I woke up and I would be able to say it’s the happiest day of my life because I am grateful for what I have (working on this one big time lol). I would get more and more consistent and more and more determined, to do what I really wanted.

Now I am obsessed.

Without goals my life would be empty now. I always want to be better and to me, I am wasting my life if I settle for anything less than my full potential. Its given me true purpose, true drive.

If you have never REALLY gone down the path of self growth, I cannot stress enough that you try it. At the very least it should give you more perspective on how realistic your ideal life is with a little bit of work.

If you have no idea where to start, hit me up. I’ll help you out. Message me here, message me on Instagram (@_1aweek), or on Facebook (www.facebook.com/1aweekchallenge). Part of me being the best version of myself is helping others do the same, so I am here to help!

Boomer Perrault

Co-Founder 1 a Week

Boomer Perrault

Co-Founder of 1 a Week, where we encourage kind acts and give away free stuff @_1aweek