The sun is shining, the birds are chirping, and people are crying and complaining

Boom Shikha
2 min readJan 31, 2018
Photo by Christian Sterk on Unsplash

I am here in the jungle sitting on a hammock, watching the world around me. The birds are chirping. The breeze is cool and refreshing. The air is fresh and lovely. I am happy and alive.

Of course, that is when I hear someone in the bungalow next to me start crying. In between sobs, she talks about how hard her life is with the man, who she is speaking to, and she goes on and on for a while.

I am not being non-sympathetic here. I understand completely. The truth is it doesn’t matter where you are, or where you are coming from. You could be in the most beautiful place on the planet. A paradise. Filled with delicious foods, and beautiful people. You could be there with the hottest man or the most beautiful woman in the world. You could be there with an unlimited budget for massages, and facials.

But, if you have darkness inside of you, shadows that you haven’t dealt with, stuff that is still lingering and causing you strife, then it doesn’t matter. All of that doesn’t matter. Nothing matters, really. You are here and you need to deal with your shit.

We carry our shit with us physically and literally everywhere we go.

It can be sunny outside, but if it is stormy and dark in our hearts, then it doesn’t really…

--

--

Boom Shikha

I am a writer, who writes because she needs to write, like she needs to breathe. For my science fiction and erotic novels, visit https://linktr.ee/boomshikha.