Michiel Borkent
2 min readNov 8, 2014

TL;DR of my long-term weight loss and maintenance success

2009, 2 years before change:

2011, right before the start:

One year later:

Another year later:

Now, 2014:

Some data. Time on the x-axis. Kilograms on the y-axis. Changed way of eating mid 2011.

Tutorial:

The Starch Solution by John A. McDougall, M.D.

If you really want to dig into this life style:

Update 2017, three years after writing this post and six years since the start of my plant based diet. Someone asked for some recent pictures. This one was taken today during a walk. I'm still eating the same simple diet of starches, fruits and vegetables and have no cravings for change. My BMI is 21 at 65 kilograms and 1.76 cm length.

The end! Let me know about your experiences at @borkdude