Overwhelmed

Michelle S
1 min readApr 29, 2019

When I am overwhelmed

I try to shut down but I start to focus

On the really small, the really tiny things

The insignificant become extra-significant

My eyelid’s twitching

What about under my eyelid?

My eyeball is really warm

It’s actually hot

It’s kind of thrashing around under there

There is this microwave kind of heat

Not the sunshine kind

Just radiating off of the liquid surface

And trapped under a mild black

The black’s mild because it’s not night yet

I am lying here in the daytime

It’s kind of warm

So, I’m laying under the fan

The blades are cutting through the air

Not slicing

Cutting. Because, this fan is old

So, there is a chug, chug chug

Instead of a zzp, zzp, zzp

Which is why

My hair is still stuck to my forehead

Even after 11 minutes of lying

Directly under the fan

--

--