How To Scale Your Small Business By Thinking Big

Bonin Bough
2 min readNov 21, 2016

--

Many small businesses think small.

An important thing to remember, however, is that just because you’re a small business doesn’t mean you need to think small.

If I were a small business owner, I would wake up every single day and think to myself, “How do I create another billion dollar business? How do I create another billion dollar brand?” Then, that’s what I would go work to do.

But, what most small businesses get focused on — and for good reason, by the way — are things like cash flow and payroll…

And I get it. Those things are really important.

But, sometimes I’d like to see these businesses step back a bit and pull all the emotion that goes into those decisions out of it. Then, begin to use big business thinking.

Small Business, Big Thinking

How do you bring big business thinking to small business?

Ask yourself these questions:

  • How do I scale? What fundamentally has to happen to my business in order for it to be able to get big?
  • What unique piece or selling proposition do I have that could lead to a potential investment and drive growth?

Think about Whole Foods. At its core, Whole Foods was a mom and pop grocery store. But, the difference was they had a unique selling proposition they were going to deliver, and ultimately that thing could scale, so they caught that customer opportunity. Hershey? Same thing.

So, once you find your unique selling proposition, how do you scale it?

Power Networking

One of the things that we teach at BrandU is power networking.

What’s super important is figuring out how to get your foot in the door and make really valuable connections.

Figure out what relationships you need that are going to help you approach your business dream of scaling, then utilize the powerful tools available to you. Tools like LinkedIn.

People underutilize LinkedIn.

That alumni connectivity you likely have on LinkedIn is huge, and once you explore it, you’re going to find first-level connections that can potentially turn into huge opportunities for yourself and your business.

I want to continue to build billion dollar businesses, but I want to do it with small businesses that can help grow Main Street.

Businesses that can really help put jobs in neighborhoods, and ultimately change the complexion of our schools… all those things that small business owners tackle.

So, let me know what you think. You can either comment here or you can text me directly: (646) 759–1837. I can’t wait to hear from you. Let’s talk about it.

For more on this topic, watch the full episode of Let’s Talk About It:

--

--

Bonin Bough

Host of @ClevelandCNBC | Former Chief Media & eCommerce Officer @Mdlz | Magazine Fanatic | Talent Enthusiast | Txt Me: +1 (646) 759–1837