CS 373 Spring 2023: Bowen Huang

Bowen Huang
2 min readApr 16, 2023

--

Week of April 10th — April 16th

What did you do this past week?

This past week I worked on phase 4 of IDB. I started studying for one of my general elective class exams this coming Thursday. I also started working on my project for my other computer science elective. Other than that, I caught up on some sleep and continued trying to find someone to sublease my apartment.

What’s in your way?

This coming week will be my busiest week since I have 2–3 projects in my computer science classes(including this class) due next Wednesday/Thursday. I also have an exam Thursday and I need to begin thinking about packing for the end of the school year.

What will you do next week?

Next week I will be mostly working. A lot of major exams/projects will be due next week since it is almost the end of classes. I hope everything will go smoothly and as planned next week.

What did you think of Paper #13. What Happens to Us Does Not Happen to Most of You

This paper was very different from the previous ones we have had, but I think it is an even more important topic. I was very surprised that there were some relatively recent accounts of misconduct in the computer science workplace.

What was your experience of refactoring and strategy pattern? (this question will vary, week to week)

I do think that refactoring and strategy patterns are relatively important, even though the functionality of the code may be similar or the same. I think it is important to make sure that the source code is readable and can adapt. However, I do think that I still need some more practice in refactoring, since sometimes I get confused about what is necessary.

What made you happy this week?

This week I played some chess and did pretty well in my games. I guess that’s just how it goes when playing games, sometimes one does well and sometimes one does not do well.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip of the week is to apply to software engineering internships as early as possible. I have found that it is extremely beneficial to apply early, and I would rather apply early and be a little less unprepared than apply later and be a bit more prepared. Ideally, it is better to apply early and prepared, but I just think my example shows that applying early is also just as important as preparing for interviews, in my opinion.

--

--