How-to🤔 : get your Driving License in Sri Lanka

Buwaneka De Silva
6 min readFeb 12, 2022

--

Sample

Hello everyone đź‘‹

In this particular article, I will be writing about my experience of acquiring a drivers license in Sri Lanka. Please note that this is just to share information. To begin with, the first advice you get when you inquire about a driving license from anyone is “Go to a driving School” they know how it works. In most cases this is true but I did my research given the sketchy stories amongst the locals. Since it was the Pandemic it was a little bit difficult to acquire information offline therefore these were the steps I took,

  1. To the experts

I started off by going to a few experts who have been driving for a while asked them a few questions with regards to the process. The feedback was quite clear. If you have had experience driving you can go in yourself and initiate the process. In the opposite case, you have to go through a driving school. Since I had no experience driving a vehicle I choose the second.

2. Selecting driving school & registering

Like I mentioned previously due to the pandemic I was unable to physically visit places therefore my go to solution for this was Google Maps. I practically ended up calling most driving schools my focus was to validate if they had legit ways of getting things done or was it bribery. Only found a limited number of places that were legit around my area. Choose a school went on an installment plan cause it was the safest way in case something happened.

3. Appointment with the DMT RMV

To make an appointment with the DMT RMV call — Updated Number from 4th March 2024 : 0112117116 or https://dmtappointments.dmt.gov.lk/) for new license registration.(Jayasekera, 2020) The IVR system they have will assist you in the steps. Ideally, a phone number and National Identity Number was required to proceed. Once you have given those details the IVR will request you to accept the date or request for a different date. I went ahead with the date they gave me cause if I did request another date it would be further from the date the IVR system requested. (Someone can test this feature if they have the time)

4. Practical training commenced

I commenced my training with my licensed instructor with an insured car. The instructor gave the basic knowledge of what all these hardware did and what I should not be doing. Now, this wasn’t fun for me initially cause I was driving like I used to do in the games that I’ve played. NOT RECOMMENDED. Trust me it was very reckless given the buses on the street. Long story short once I got the hang of things all was good and I was no reckless driver anymore.

5. Medical Certificates and required documentation

Before you go in for the registration at the DMT RMV you need to get an approved medical certificate indicating that you are physically ready to acquire your driving license. To book an appointment at your nearest government-approved medical centre I recommend e-channelling or you can call them via 255 and book an appointment. (Ministry of Transport, 2020) This is the fastest way to book your appointment, plus the queue with the planned appointments are prioritized when going in to get things done. Take your N.I.C/Passport or Birth Certificate when going in for the appointment. Personally would recommend slippers or flip flops cause they will check your weight, height & tell you to do a few exercises. Other than that the process was very efficient and seamless took about 15 minutes to get things done probably the fastest services amongst the government services I’ve experienced. At the end of the process your given certificate along with the document you may have provided to them.

6. DMT RMV Registration

Simply what I can say is it’s a government office no matter how early you are or on time you are they will only take you in when there’s sufficient room. Recommend to take a water bottle, snacks and an umbrella cause it will take time & the place is hot. They will request you to fill in some documents this will include which vehicle classes, transmission, fingerprints and of course the bad profile picture due to the exhausting queue. All in all, if you take in your N.I.C and medical certificate you should be good to get things done. Once this is done you need to get the written (Digital) examination date fixed.

7. Preparation for the exam

Get the examination related book from your driving school or closest book shop. Further to it some book shops sell the past papers of this examination. I used this app to practice for my exam it surely did a number given the speed, amount of questions and the actual format of the exam I recommend it to anyone getting ready for the exam.

8. Taking the theoretical exam

First and foremost if you feel like you aren’t ready for the exam I recommend you to go in & reschedule the exam to your convenience.

On the date of the exam, you need to go in with the documents previously handed over to you along with your N.I.C. Enter the examination hall in a behaved manner no phones, smartwatches, papers, pens, etc are allowed. Recommend to take a bag to stack these things up. Once you go into the hall you’ll be instructed to sit down at a computer that has the exam loaded. The invigilators will provide you with the instructions (takes about 15–20 minutes).

Passing score for the exam was 30/40, multiple questions & answers; will be available in all three languages of our country. Tip: Read the questions and quickly answer the questions that are easy, leave the difficult ones for the last. (Bookmark them) Once you’re done with answering the questions go through them a few times & submit it. You’ll get your result the moment you submit the exam the invigilators will check the results and tell you to proceed to the practical examination queue. In the case you fail you will be directed to the other queue which will direct you to retaking the exam.

9. Preparation for the Practical Exam

Once you’ve selected the date for the practical exam you just have to practice for it. Again this is could be rescheduled to your convenience. I had to reschedule my exam twice due to the lockdown we had. Ultimately thanks to my driving school they managed to get me a date for the exam.

10. Taking the Practical Exam

Now, this is a little bit tricky cause there’s a huge queue and some examiners are exhausted. If you’re taking a license for all vehicles you’ll have to do the motorbike one first then the normal motor vehicles. Hoping that all will be alright I took my practical exam. It was very smooth the examiner was refreshed and gave me good feedback but the best part of it was I got to do this while it was raining which I wasn’t trained for.. All in all, it was a fun experience for me and after I got my result felt like I should do this more.

Exactly after a month, you will receive your driving license via registered post.

Next steps

The instruction given by my learning school was to drive responsibly & once you a get vehicle till you get used to it depict the Learners Board (L) on the vehicle. (There’s a time limit you can do this not really sure how long) Renew the license in 9 years time.

Conclusion

All in all the process took some time due to the pandemic. It was fun to learn and practice things. I genuinely hope you got some knowledge of how this works. If you have any queries please feel free to DM on social media, also if this article helped you do not forget to give it a clap.

Jayasekera, S., 2020. Call 0112677877 for DMT appointments — News | Daily Mirror. [online] Dailymirror.lk. Available at: <https://www.dailymirror.lk/news/Call-0112677877-for-DMT-appointments/239-200904>.

Ministry of Transport. 2020. Obtaining the fitness medical certificate related to driving license through the e-Channeling service. [online] Available at: <https://www.transport.gov.lk/web/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=215:2020-09-04-03-50-42&catid=8&Itemid=115&lang=en>.

--

--

Buwaneka De Silva

Tech Enthusiast 👨‍💻 | Enterprise Agile Coach | Aspiring Researcher. The views expressed are my own and do not represent my employer’s opinion.