A Commitment to Image

Brad Jones
2 min readSep 22, 2014

--

I graduated my Photography program in 2013. In the time since my graduation I've completed a photography internship, spent a lot of time unemployed, went back to school to study Public Relations and Event Management (where I also graduated, this time with honours,) and found steady employment a month after leaving school a second time. In this year span I went from focusing on photographs everyday, producing quality work and defining my style, to maybe picking up my camera once every two months.

This is my new found commitment to the photographic process that once drove my waking hours. For the next year I am committing myself to creating one blog post per week with an emphasis on my photography. Every week for a minimum of one year, posted on Medium and my Facebook page, will be a post featuring my photographs with a complete write-up. In order to set up some consistency, I've set up some rules that I must follow.

I must showcase a minimum of one completed image per week
This image must be fully realized and produced. Any amount of supplemental images (including behind the scenes,) is just a bonus and does not count towards the one image minimum.

I must showcase a photo that has been taken in the last three weeks.
Ideally the photographs will be of one week previous, but I am allowing myself some breathing room for some of life’s occurrences. Sickness, human fragility, cancellation, and weather all affect whether a shoot can be done to completion, so some weeks I may photograph two separate things, and others only one, as long as the photo I post for that week is photographed within three weeks of publication online.

A full write up must also accompany the image.
The write up must be a minimum of one paragraph detailing some aspects of the shoot including vision, technical challenges, or anecdotes.

All work will be non-commercial.
This project is personal, and as such, no commissioned work will be posted. This will keep me on my toes and is a rule I always throw out the window first. I am a people-pleaser through and through, and that begins to interfere with my process and eventually leads to anxiety and roadblocks to completing my work. I am wholly accepting of any criticism and feedback for my images and challenges, but the final images will be of my own creative vision and execution.

The first deadline of my first image is set for October 6th, 2014. If you would like to harass me on social media as motivation for me to get my image done(Facebook, Twitter, Instagram,) that would be greatly appreciated.

--

--