Upgrade your Life by Questioning your Defaults

A revealing thought-experiment about questioning your default habits that you can learn a lot from!

Naveen
ILLUMINATION

--

Photo by Cristofer Jeschke on Unsplash

As I hear the alarm go off, after screaming at Google to stop, I immediately reach for that bottle of water which I gulp down before I drag myself out of bed. Next thing I move on to, without giving a second thought, is grabbing my phone and head to the bathroom.

This has become second nature to me, repeating it every single day. Whenever I don’t end up doing it, it feels different and foreign! This is just one of the countless examples to showcase how certain behaviors have become defaults. They’ve laid down their roots and are there to stay.

There are a ton of things we accept as default options or which end up becoming defaults by the virtue of people around us and us repeating it so many times. They’re everywhere, across every aspect of your life — in the devices you use to the food you eat. There’s a whole wide world of defaults wee all mindlessly default to.

Every time you pick up the phone, you open Instagram or Facebook. Whenever you open the browser, your hands automatically start typing face… or whatever your default is. You see companies encouraging this behavior by reducing the friction and already pre-selecting…

--

--