SAP AS ABAP 7.52 SP04 (Trial) Dev Edition Issues and Lessons

Brandon Caulfield
3 min readJul 30, 2020

--

Common issues and lessons I ran into when trying to install the SAP ABAP Trial (Dev Edition) of AS ABAP 7.52 SP01/ SP04.

I.e. issues after executing ./install.sh

Hostname Issues

If you’ve come across this error in your log file during the installation, then you’re not alone!

=>sapparam(1c): No Profile used.

=>sapparam: SAPSYSTEMNAME neither in Profile nor in Commandline

################################################

Abort execution because of

Step returns modlib.jslib.caughtException

################################################

I managed to fix this error by correcting the entries in my /etc/hosts and /etc/hostname files.

As the guide says, you need to edit these two files so that they look exactly like below:

sudo nano /etc/hosts

10.0.2.15 vhcalnplci vhcalnplci.dumm.nodomain vhcalnplci

However, the guide doesn’t seem to include the vhcalnplci after “.nodomain”. Once I included it that seemed to partly fix my issue.

Then the hostname file also needs to be as per below:

sudo nano /etc/hostname

You can also achieve the same thing with this nice little Linux command:

sudo hostnamectl set-hostname vhcalnplci

Shared Folder not Visible | Unable to insert the virtual optical disk

It seems that this time around I needed to install the VirtualBox Guest Additions addon to be able to access the sf_s4installer folder on my host machine. When I first tried it gave me this error:

Unable to insert the virtual optical disk C:\Program Files\Oracle\VirtualBox\VBoxGuestAdditions.iso into the machine 752 SP04.

To fix this I:

  • Rebooted the virtual machine
  • Clicked Devices → Optical Drives → Remove disk from virtual drive
  • Then I tried Devices → Insert Guest addition CD image

This seemed to work because I was then presented with a pop up to continue the installation of the Guest addition addon.

OpenSUSE root password must be 8 characters or more

I don’t know why I chose a short root password to begin with(even though OpenSUSE warned me it was too short) but after fixing everything above and having the install still fail, this seemed to be the final fix I needed.

Unfortunately I don’t have anything useful in the log file to show you but if you’ve tried everything and you’re at your wits end then it might be too short a Linux root user password.

Final Thoughts

After fixing all of the above I finally managed to get through the server installation and my new version is now up and running.

If you’ve found any other issues worth adding please comment below and I’ll add them to the list.

Thanks for reading!

--

--