Rack Mounting my Gaming PC

Brandon Cole
3 min readJan 19, 2024

Why I wanted to rack mount my gaming PC

For years, I have had a rack in my office for my home media server and NAS. The rack is small enough to sit under my office desk. The server is very quiet even when spun up, so sound has never been a problem. The heat from the server is also pretty minimal. My rack has had the space for one more 4u server case for years. I have always had trouble with the amount of desk space my gaming PC takes up. It has been on my mind for years that it would be easy to move all the components in the gaming PC to a 4u server case so that I could put it into my rack. I even did a little bit of research on other people who have done this as well. There are many posts on Reddit specifically where people have put their gaming PCs or workstations into rack mount cases without issues. So, ultimately I made the decision that rack mounting my gaming PC was the route I wanted to go as well.

How I rack mounted my gaming PC

When I built my home media server, I used a Rosewill 4u case and have been extremely happy with how everything has worked. If you look at some Reddit posts, you will find that these Rosewill cases are pretty popular for home servers and gaming PCs. So, I decided that the best bet was to use another Rosewill case for my gaming PC. I decided to add the case to my Christmas list and was lucky enough to have one of my family members purchase the exact one I needed.

--

--