I am Just a Passenger

--

My face is an honest map of my

Grins and sorrows,

Of all my wins and losses,

My anticipations hidden in the alleys

Under my seemingly placid eyes

My face is a map

Navigated without a compass

Without patience:

Uncombed,

Unwashed,

Raw and

Plain

A map of

Lost and found

A keyhole for a non-existent key

My face is a map

With interconnected roads,

With many crossroads,

Without traffic lights

My face is painted with rainbow colours

A colourful map

There is a road on that map

The Road that still carries your name

It used to be an Avenue

But we took a wrong turn:

“Good-bye, my friend, good-bye”

I am just a passenger

And the map I follow is written on my face.

--

--

Branka Cubrilo

Branka Cubrilo is the author of eight novels and two short story collections. She primarily writes historical fiction focusing on the human condition.