Fix Remote Desktop Black Screen

Reich Web Consulting
1 min readDec 27, 2019

Note: This article was originally written on reich-consulting.net. Reich Web Consulting has narrowed its focus to the web and no longer offers tech support services, so we’ve moved all of our tech support content off-site. We hope you find this article useful. It is provided as-is, and we will no longer provide support on this topic.

Every once in a while I’ll try to log into a server and get what I call the Remote Desktop Black Screen of Death. No matter how many times I log out, log in, try to switch resolutions, etc. I could never defeat it. Fortunately I just discovered a simple solution: hit the Remote Desktop equivalent of Control+Alt+Delete, which is Control+Alt+End.

--

--

Reich Web Consulting

Purveyor of fine web creations. Former tech support geniuses. Occasional spouter of opinions on topics of politics and ethics.