Beth Hill
3 min readSep 15, 2020

You’re never too old to do what you love

How losing a dream forced a better dream

Many people have asked how I found myself starting my own business at the age of 55. It was not my plan to do so. Since I joined the work force after years as a stay at home mom, I have had many twists and turns in my journey. I went to seminary where I earned a master’s degree in Christian formation. I volunteered and then worked as a youth minister/pastor for several years. After getting burned out on church people (look for another post about that), I worked as a teaching assistant for high school kids with developmental disabilities. I loved it and thought I wanted to be a special education teacher. I then went to work as an employment coach for adults with developmental disabilities. I did that until I got a scholarship/stiped to go back to school to get my teaching certificate in Special Education. Due to the pandemic, this special program had trouble placing students in schools to work for the year. Right before I was supposed to start, I quit my job. The dream shattered as the scholarship was put off for a year.

I was stuck without a job during Covid-19 and no scholarship. I lamented for a day or two, before I let the disappointment go. I decided that I would find a way to write my own story through my own talents in my own company. I got a certification as a life coach and am working on an NLP certification. I also decided that I could put some of my talent as a writer to work and start publishing e-books online. I have a great business plan. I have taken steps towards doing what I love.

I was still stuck for a bit as I was unsure of what steps to take, even though I have a business plan. Listening to synchronicities in my life, I have started an Instagram book club. I am posting on Medium. I am expanding my social media presence, working on my YouTube channel, and working on the outline for my first online course. I am motivated by one thing: I am doing what I love simply because I love it. Helping others is my passion. Writing is my passion. Reading is my passion. I love them all, and I can combine them into a business. I absolutely love my work. I love to step into my office each day and get on with the plan for the day.

Losing that scholarship was devastating for a moment, but finding my true calling, and working toward new goals have energized me. I am listening to myself, my intuition in ways I never have. I am getting to know many like-minded women. Learning new skills, like video editing has been fun. Stepping out of my comfort zone and doing many things I have never done before is scary, but I approach each challenge with excitement. I am expan