What being at loggerheads with my boss has taught me.

Brenda Moraa
4 min readApr 13, 2018

Being patient and positive.

photo by Brook Lark|Unsplash

It has taken me a little over six months to get to terms with the fact that I am quite slow when it comes to grasping ideas and that I am really smart at doing what I understand and only understand.

During this time I was never at par with my boss, with a new problem cropping up each dawn. This could get so frustrating. I am your average employee(I would want to be exemplary , yes, but one step at a time), so I do as I am told, take a little more time to understand new concepts as they come, a bit rebellious and will perform my work greatly only when I do.

Recently I had a blow up at work that led to a rude awakening. Funny, right? Well, not so funny. I was shifting houses, my immediate supervisor was not around neither were any of top management. So I decide to leave a note at the front office-to the office receptionist not exactly addressing anyone saying I will be out for most of mid morning and part of the afternoon. I did move, yes, but I never made it back to the office that afternoon.

I woke up to an email asking me to explain to HR why I had left the office unattended to and withouth enough and clear notice. I was all fired up by the email and reacting all emotionally. Being an office of few people we all know each other and sometimes issues can spill over from individual to indvidual.

Word had spread I never made it back to the office and a group of my collegues were having a discussion about the same. Feeling excluded felt so nasty, I kept feeling an urge to burge and comfront them with thoughts about the same.

Eventually the office cleaner quenched my thirst for information and fed me with bs that was being discussed. I was emotionally charged and contemplated to comfront my boss but I did not.

Long story short I almost quit for what I thought was unfair treatment from my boss. I had had similar experiences and this seemed like the last straw for me. I was on the edge

I consulted with a friend who really thought I was overreacting, he actually walked me through the whole process and I have learnt alot of this from the same:

I am not as receptive to criticism as I thought, I literally got mad when asked why I did not use the right channels to report my absentia from the office. I had expected that they would understand that I was moving. Well, I am more alert now, I need to better communicate and use official channels as such.

Being an eight to fiver means you shall always communicate effectively to mantain peace in your docket.

I act emotionally rather than logically, this is not new to me, nevertheless it was clear during this time.

Put aside your emotions when dealing with people. Do not assume that everyone understand all the details, state the facts and let the facts guide you while performing anything.

My boss has specific expectations about me and its upto me to rise up to them. My boss expects me to conduct myself in a particular way at the office and anything less than their expectations will not sufice.

Its a work place not a social event, I can not curve the rules to fit my needs exactly.

Being patient. Understanding that I have my strengths and weaknesses as an individual in both life and at work.

It takes time to work on one’s shortcomings and improve in certain working areas. I have to be patient and take baby steps on this. To help me be at peace and consume knowledge well for understanding.

Being accountable. Nothing sucks like someonme shifting blame. Own it, change it, thats how you do not get caught up in awkward situations with collegues and supervisors.

Follow the crowd. Yes, you heard me right. I am one person who believes in doing things your own way. Truth though is, if you are always on the opposite side of the group then you are probably wrong most of the time. This is not easy to hear but you have to go with the crowd.

I recently read an article where the writer clearly stated “if most people are assholes to you, then you are clearly the asshole” no offence.

Crowd mentality though does alot of damage, can help you in certain situations.

Being positive. Be receptive to criticism and always be positive about it. Not always it will be an attack on you but more of a correction.

Lastly,

Follow rules. If only I had followed rules I would not be here writing this piece, whih something positive but still I would never be here if I had followed the right channels.

--

--