How Animals Connect with Vulnerable People

Non-verbal communication speaks volumes

Brendan Christopher
7 min readDec 19, 2021
Photo by Bren from Wild4animals

One of the most incredible moments with my animals happened at a Dementia care home.

As a visitor, I greeted the residents holding Gretel (she’s my gorgeous German giant rabbit). This was a way of making a positive first impression and gauging the response to animals.

Once, whilst I engaged with residents, a lady roamed around the room, appearing aimless. She constantly muttered to herself and seemed oblivious to all around her.

At one point, she marched towards me. I moved to avoid her, but she blocked my path. Her face fixed on Gretel’s.

Photo by Bren from Wild4animals

She outstretched her arms and cupped Gretel’s cheeks. Then, grinning broadly, she started chatting. Only this time, her words were crystal clear and eloquent.

She spoke to Gretel like a long lost friend; telling her how thrilled she was to meet her and how her husband used to breed rabbits just like her. Meanwhile, Gretel lapped up the affection (her ears twitched as if listening intently).

--

--

Brendan Christopher

I aim to highlight the benefits of animal-human relations and increase recognition for our fellow creatures.