MY DESIGN MANAGER README

Brendan McWeeney
5 min readDec 18, 2018

--

illustrations by @juniordrawsstuff

WTF IS THIS?

I created this document to help you get to know a little bit more about me as we start the journey of simplifying complexity and building amazing shit together. This is not meant to be a static document. Its intent is to start a conversation as we begin building a fantastic relationship together.

TL;DR

  • In another life, I’d be a professional wrestler
  • Creativity, empathy, wisdom, collaboration, and drive
  • My job is to build you up and make you better
  • In person > Video call > Slack > Email > Text
  • Build great relationships
  • Question authority (even mine)
  • 1x1’s are your time with me
  • Feedback is a two-way street

ABOUT ME

I’m an industry veteran with years of experience leading and motivating teams of passionate and creative designers. I love the intersection of data and design that helps create engaging experiences both within and beyond traditional UIs.

Outside of work and school, I enjoy shooting live music events and working on photo series. I’m an avid home-brewer with a growing library of original recipes. I love going on adventures with my husband and three labradors. If money weren’t an object and my body could handle it, I’d be a professional wrestler.

MY VALUES

The core values to my personal philosophy of leadership are creativity, empathy, wisdom, collaboration, and drive. You can read more about that here.

I am fortunate to be with LinkedIn, a company whose values are strong and that align with mine. I value diversity of people and thought, and highly encourage you all to bring your whole selves to work. Together we’ll help transform your career while being a part of this amazing, supportive organization.

MY JOB

  • You are my #1 priority
  • My job is to build you up to get you to that next level
  • I remove roadblocks. Consider me your Buffy to The Scooby Gang or your Michonne to a pack of Walkers
  • I plan, strategize, and build relationships
  • I am accountable for the decisions that you make, and the overall quality of the work you deliver

MY CALENDAR

My calendar is open by design. I want you to be able to see what I’m up to, with whom, and when. It is your choice to give me access to yours as well. I get a lot of heads-down work done during my commute. You may get a lot of early-morning messages from me. Feel free to respond when you get into the office.

If you can’t find a time on my calendar when you need me, please let me know and we’ll make something work. I am here for you. You should never feel like you are bugging me whether you reach out during or after business hours.

COMMUNICATION

My preferred method of communication is in person. If that is not possible then a Video / Bluejeans meeting is the next best thing. I tend to be fairly responsive on Slack, but if it is urgent and you don’t hear from me, shoot me a text. Of course, I accept emails but I only check them in the morning, over lunch if there is time, and then at the end of the day. Expect a 24 hour response time for emails.

If I send you an email out of business hours don’t feel like you need to reply until normal business hours. If it’s an emergency (with your permission) I will text you.

YOUR JOB

  • Build great relationships so that you can create great products
  • Share solutions with me before going to our partners so I can support and defend you
  • Constructively challenge me, your team, and your partners
  • Be passionate and have a growth mindset
  • Collaborate
  • Be effective and clear in your communication
  • Do a “Deep Dive” or “Show & Tell” each quarter
  • Have fun and get shit done

1x1s

This is your time, and it is very important to me. You control the agenda and decide how it can provide the most value for you. We can adjust the cadence and timing as needed to fit both of our schedules but I prefer to start off with a 30-minute weekly 1x1 and adjust from there.

I’ll take a small amount of our time to update you on anything relevant that I’m hearing across the organization.

FEEDBACK

I am a firm believer in Radical Candor which is basically saying what I think while also caring about the person I am saying it to. Because I care about you and your career I will say things that you might not want to hear. Please know it’s coming from a constructive place that is ultimately going to make you a better designer and teammate. Feedback will be in real-time and ongoing. I want it to be a two-way street as well. If you are ever surprised by any feedback from me on your reviews then I have not done my job.

ABOUT YOU

I’ve written a lot here about myself, but a good amount of my job is adapting to your needs and philosophies as well. I look forward to talking to you about them as we start the next phase of our design careers together.

##

Illustrations by

--

--

Brendan McWeeney

UX Design Leader, Early Adopter, Homebrewer, Photographer, Owner of 3 Labs