CS373 Summer 2018: Brendan Miller

Brendan P Miller
2 min readJun 25, 2018

--

Week 3 (June 18–24)

  1. What did you do this past week?

I finished and submitted Collatz, joined a slack channel with my group members, and began working on the backend by way of learning about Postman and Flask. We came up with our project idea as well.

Outside of class, I finished a project for my job, changed my engine coolant, and got rid of some old possessions. I’m continuing my mostly Soylent diet in order to cut more weight, I should be at my target weight within a month.

  1. What’s in your way?

Lack of experience, though that will soon change. And potentially coordinating with such a large group could be difficult. Luckily I’m living with one of my group members, so we will be able to constantly collaborate (and even pair program).

  1. What will you do next week?

Finish our API, contribute to the technical document, and continue to learn about all the frameworks and tools required in this class.

For fun, I’m going to swim at the Deep Eddy pool. I’ve swam at Barton a few times, but the water there is too cold for my liking. And I’m trying to get some more sun exposure as I’ve been indoors most of this week.

  1. What did you think of the talk by Miriam, Nalini, and Shan? (this question will vary, week to week)

I thought it was great! Both in how it detailed what the “real world” is like for CS graduates, and more specifically what that looks like for women. Its hard to know about women’s issues if you surround yourself with men.

  1. What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

My tip of the week is related to caffeine. I highly recommend anyone who regularly drinks coffee to go on tolerance breaks in order to assess their dependence on caffeine as well as their performance using it versus without it. Though it is a very safe and well researched drug, chronically high heart rates and blood pressure can be dangerous. As a closing note, don’t abuse any form of study/productivity drugs, as improper or off-label use usually does far more harm than good.

--

--

Brendan P Miller
0 Followers

Computer science/mathematics student at the University of Texas at Austin