Brent Cooper
Feb 21, 2021

--

Another great reflection! I had to take a bit to read and it. I think I agree with all of it. My "Mapping Metamodernism" article, which was reposted to this blog after the Hypermodern one but was written/published back in May, captures my cynicism about the metamodern 'movement' and discourse, noting in the conclusion how it has failed and beyond that - unless people pursue it collectively - I'm essentially left alone with my own version/ perception of it, which I was striving for to be universal... So, we are both approaching this edge, recognizing how the meta-crisis is reproduced almost everywhere, even in our own engagement, despite our best efforts... and we keep pushing for an event horizon of possible solutions, of a 'true' metamodernism, solving the meta-crisis, not merely steered by it. I am going to read your "Against" article now.

--

--

Brent Cooper

Political sociologist by training, mystic by nature, rebel by choice. Executive Director of The Abs-Tract Organization. #pointbeing #abstract