My son is my purpose.

Brett Adams
2 min readJan 17, 2022

--

My son is perfect in every way. He just happens to be neurodivergent. If you’ve read my very first post, you’re familiar with what we’ve been through.

My handsome boy in the NICU.

Baby Ezra in the NICU. He’s home now, and his tube is out!

My son has a rare condition called Phelan-McDermid syndrome. Phelan-McDermid causes moderate to severe cognitive impairment, and the ability to speak is severely delayed or altogether absent.

My wife and I won’t let that define him, though. The best advice we received while in the NICU was to let him set his limits — don’t impose them. His path is hard. He’s proven himself to be strong. And he will define possible for himself.

My son will accomplish so much in his life, and I want to be there for every milestone.

He’s the reason I ventured out on my own to start up Insight Projects. I desire to create a life where I do not need to choose between my family’s financial and emotional well-being.

Our Frenchie, Bilbo, is so curious about Ezra.

Our Frenchie, Bilbo, and our baby boy, Ezra. Bilbo already loves him.

We’ve already noticed that having him home from the NICU has made him so much happier. Being in a house filled with love brings him the biggest smiles. He has two “big brothers” (Frenchies) who are so curious about him. They’ve been so protective of my baby boy.

I want to be there for his coos and his cries. For his laughter and his tears. I want to be there for my wife as we learn to live with our new reality together. I want to be there for it all.

If you’re able, please help spread our story. Follow, like, share, show your support. You’ll be helping me be there for the important moments.

--

--

Brett Adams

Husband | Father | Founder of Insight Projects | Lessons learned about all of them