WeWork is Absolute Bonkers

Brett Schafer
4 min readMay 17, 2019

Note: This article originally appeared on Market Brothers Media.

I don’t think I’ve laughed more times reading a business article than this Bloomberg piece on WeWork (sorry, the We Company). Stories about the start-up from the Wall Street Journal and Business Insider dropped today as well, but they were both behind paywalls so I, as a broke investor, was unable to access them. Thank god for Bloomberg’s 8 free articles each month.

The We Company, as CEO Adam Neumann wants us all to call his glorified real estate firm, is set to IPO later this year. Business journalists have started to make the rounds at the firm, specifically trying to interview who I would call the most optimistic (and possibly delusional) CEO this side of Elon Musk. I mean, just look at the man:

If you don’t want to read the entire Bloomberg article, that’s fine, because I decided to compile the five funniest, most outlandish quotes from the story. And remember, this is a start-up with $1.8 billion in annual revenue, $1.9 billion in annual losses, and a valuation of $47 billion (that is not a typo). Enjoy.

“Neumann told a reporter in 2017 that WeWork’s 11-figure valuation had less to do

--

--

Brett Schafer

Writing at chitchatmoney.com. Sharing my thoughts and favorite posts from the site. Mostly Investing and Business related.