What is “wholesome” and how do I become it?

“I want to be a more wholesome person” — Me, to myself.

Brian J. R.
3 min readMay 31, 2019
My happy place!

What does wholesome even mean?

Over the past four months I have been on a personal journey to become a more “wholesome” person. The problem is that our world is so unwholesome that learning the ropes is actually more difficult than you would expect. I have tried countless “how to be positive” advice articles, read bucket loads of opinion posts about kindness, and researched hundreds of topics about being “wholesome”.

Guess what?

I’m still uncertain.

Our social world is interconnected on a level that seems impossible compared to say, 50 years ago. With such readily available interactions, you would think everyone would be happier? Right?

Nope!

Due to how connected we are as people, it’s nearly impossible to disconnect yourself for long periods of time. I’ve deleted Facebook probably 6 times in the last three months, and as of right now it’s not on my phone (yay!). But why is it so hard to disconnect? Why can’t we just switch off that need for social approval? Our minds are just so programmed for social acceptance and social connection that we forget how to be our own people.

People get so absorbed in social media that we forget how to be human. We spread hate on Facebook comments, tweet about toxic political propaganda, and post about our problems for everyone to comment on. Okay, not everyone does that. But so many people do! Why are we so dependent on social media and acceptance?

And that is why I’m trying to be “wholesome”. By definition, “wholesome” is “conducive to or characteristic of physical or moral well-being” (vocabulary.com). This definition isn’t precisely what I mean when I say I want to be wholesome. However, in many respects, I am attempting to reach that definition. I’m referring more so to the actions I want to take to get there. Some of which include not giving a damn about negativity, taking life as a giant opportunity, and treating our world with respect. I would give my left arm (and I’m left-handed) for the chance to spend a year camping in the wilderness somewhere far away. Realistically, that’s just unrealistic. BUT it doesn’t mean that I can’t treat each day as if I’m waking up in my happy place, even if I can’t physically be there.

Picture a scene or place where you are at your most lively, joyful, carefree self. Great, now try and bring elements of that space into your daily life. For me, it means trying to bring more earthy colors into my room decor and investing in some real plants that I hopefully won’t accidentally kill. It also means taking time for myself to breathe fresh air, listen to calming sounds, and spend time with animals like my two bunnies (who you can see from time to time on my Instagram, @bb_rupp, you’re welcome for that shameless self-promotion!).

I suppose my point, if I have one, is that I truly believe we should all try to be more “wholesome” and just live life truly to ourselves. Do that workout that makes you feel sexy, write that poem you keep writing in your head, drink that damn green tea latte and enjoy it!

I’m going to try my hardest to be kind, compassionate, observant, articulate, cruelty-free, and fun-loving. Quite frankly, it can be hard. But I’m going to keep trying and so should you! Let’s kick social expectations and toxic negativity in the behind, okay?

--

--

Brian J. R.

Aspiring.. Blogger? Author? Early Childhood Educator? Year 22 of Life, so far so good. Let’s save our Earth! Books - Camping - Nature - TV & Film - Wildlife