Verizon is Cheating their Customers, but Here’s How You Can Save Up to $900 Next Year

brianmcdonough
2 min readAug 27, 2015

--

I started taking a closer look at Verizon when I recently experienced what I can only interpret as bald-face lies...

I have discovered a way to save much more than the $200 I feel they cheated me out of. I expect to save $900 over the next twelve months by knowing exactly what plan to choose, but first, let me briefly describe the worst violation I’ve encountered, so you know how Verizon operates.

The following is just one example, but the philosophical underpinnings of the company are much darker in my opinion. I believe they are actually training their employees to be evil.

The good news is you can get around this darkness pretty effortlessly by being informed and stepping into the light.

As evidence of this darkness, I present a sim card activation kit, a product you can buy for $49.99 on their website.

What they don’t tell the person buying the sim card activation kit is that you don’t need to buy the sim card activation kit to use one of their pre-paid plans. They send the sim card to you for free when you call them to sign up for a pre-paid plan or when you step into one of their stores.

The only explanation for the costly (and completely unnecessary) activation kit is that Verizon wants to charge any customer who hasn’t done their homework an additional $49.99 for nothing.

This mentality is rampant and instilled in their employees. So, if you ever find yourself getting advice from one of their agents, rest assured, they have been trained to screw you over, money-wise.

They achieve this bend you over and fuck you in the wallet routine by telling lies about the service they’re selling.

So, now the good part.

If you are on a monthly plan, as I was, you are paying in the ballpark of $75–150 per month.

What Verizon will never tell you is that if you switch to a pre-paid plan, you can pay $45–75 per month, cutting you bill in half, more or less.

All of this is accomplished by simply moving my payment to the beginning of the payment cycle, instead of the end.

By making this small change, my savings this next year will be $900.

If all the monthly plans were to change to pre-paid, that would send a rather large message to Lowell C. McAdam, CEO of Verizon, whose name I mention here because I know his team is searching for stories in which his name appears.

If you are an individual, do yourself a favor, change over to pre-paid.

If you are a company, talk to your Verizon rep and change over to pre-paid.

--

--

brianmcdonough

Founder of poppup — create useful applications in a few clicks