Brianna Sims
6 min readNov 1, 2017

LYFTING YOUR SPIRITS

Written By: Cathy Santoni

As spring break approaches and midterms culminate, I find it important to choose a ride share application that truly cares about the wellbeing, interests, and safety of its customers. As a millennial heading to Miami for spring break, it’s important that I find rides at a reasonable price that simultaneously keep my safety and best interest as a priority. I find that and more with Lyft. Though it seems that Uber is more popular, when it comes to downright customer satisfaction, my personal experiences with Lyft have been unmatched. Not only do they cater to individuals my age, they truly take the time to show their customers that they care.

During my first spring break trip to Miami back last March, I was a bit apprehensive about getting around safely without spending too much money. Spring break can obviously get a bit crazy, meaning that prices are often sky high and even unfeasible at times for college students. However, Lyft offered a plethora of promotions that assisted spring breakers in Miami who chose Lyft with paying for their rides. They cared enough to make the experience a bit easier for myself and the tens of thousands of millennials that chose Miami as their destination for a week away from the madness that comes with being a college student. They even offer a party bus option that allows party goers exploring the nightlife the option of riding with 12 or more people.

Lyft has accepted and thrived on the fact that the community needs them. They continue to raise the bar for other rideshare companies to focus of the needs of the public. I will be continue to use Lyft as my primary rideshare application, because they care not just about their business, but the wellbeing of their customers and community as well.

Lyft CEO discussing why Lyft is the future of ridesharing.

An Open Letter to my Lyft Driver

Dear Julio,

After switching to Lyft after having numerous bad experiences with uber, I didn’t know what to expect. Ridesharing had given a bad taste in my mouth but I was willing to give it just one more chance. Little did I know, six months later I’d be using Lyft on a daily basis after I lost my car.

When I first got into your car, you took the time to look back and greet me with a smile as you held the door open. Little did you know I was having a horrible day when you arrived. I needed some form of kindness to remind me that there are such delicacies within the world that can help you forget about your problems for a bit.

When I got into the backseat of the car, you had an iphone charger and a bottle of water on the seat in front of me awaiting for me to plug in. Little did you know my phone was on 5 percent and I still had two other destinations to go to before I made it home.

As we began to head to my destination, you took the time to ask me what I wanted to listed to and I told you the local R&B station. Next thing I know, we’re listening to a smooth remix done by Mya and Blackstreet. Little did you know that that was my favorite song. Instead of trying to have conversation, you proceeded to tell her to let you know if I needed anything and you let me be. Little did you know all I needed was a bit of compassionate, and you gave me that.

Thank you for driving safely and efficiently all at once. Thank you for knowing that a bit of courtesy can go a long way. I truly appreciate you taking your job as a Lyft driver seriously. You may not know it now, but you have the power to positively impact lives with what you do. I’m glad I chose Lyft that day.

Signed,

A Stressed Out U of Miami Student Who Needed a Reason to Smile

5 THINGS YOU PROBABLY DIDN’T KNOW ABOUT LYFT

90% of rides are rated five stars.

Let’s be real here. Rideshare drivers ultimately have their passengers life in their hands. Their decisions as a driver can affect everyone in the car’s life forever. It’s paramount that drivers not only show courtesy, but keep in mind that your life is essentially in their hands during that ride. It’s comforting to know the standards and expectation are at a high degree for Lyft drivers to uphold.

In 2016, Lyft had an overall higher percentage of customer happiness in comparison to Uber.

Lyft drivers will wait five minutes before they’re allowed to cancel the ride.

Whether you call your ride in a house, a fifteen story apartment, a club, or a restaurant, we’ve had moments where we have to run back in to grab our keys or earphones. We’ve all had moments where we call the ride thinking we were ready to walk right out the door only to realize you grabbed the wrong purse. Next thing you know, your ride has been canceled, you’ve been charged a cancellation fee, and now you’re late. However, unlike Uber, Lyft gives you an extra three minutes of incidental time to get to the car. They realize that we are all human beings with busy schedules and multiple purses. Two thumbs up for being considerate.

Lyft has a waypoint option for you to make a quick stop before heading to your final destination.

Ever wanted to share a ride with someone who wasn’t going to the same destination as you? Ever had a wave of hunger hit you while in a ride? Ever wished you could be in two places at one time? Lyft gives the option to make a stop before your final destination so that you’re able to kill two birds with one stone. Who doesn’t a quick Wendy’s run before heading to the club?

Lyft has smaller surges and an overall lower minimum charge.

Surges suck. Period. It can be inconvenient to be charged three times as much as what you wold normally pay because everyone decided to go out at the same time. It’s not your problem right? With Lyft, you don’t have to spend as much time worrying about breaking your pockets because, compared to Uber, the overall prices and surges are smaller. Score for Lyft: everybody loves to save.

In 2016, Lyft had a higher overall percentage of customer satisfaction compared to Uber.

Quality over quantity? Most definitely. Despite Uber’s seemingly soaring popularity, Lyft has a much higher number of satisfied customers. This says a great deal about where their focus lies. After all, what do you really have if you have enough numbers but not enough satisfaction? A MESS!

Next time you need a ride, choose the best option Lyft. Why? To put it simply, it’s because they care.

****DISCLAIMER**** These blog posts were produced for a class assignment and have no affiliation with Lyft.