Brian Can Help!
1 min readApr 12, 2020

A letter to my Dad on his 80th Birthday.

To the man who taught me my work ethic and to do whatever it takes to provide for your family.

You have so much to be proud of and none of it is material. You gave us our sense of humor. You also gave us a part of our creativity, ingenuity and curiosity.

You’re a mechanical genius who loved to figure out how things worked. Except how to send a text message. I use the former in a different way. I can barely change a lightbulb, but I’ve been known to help change a life or two.

You passed along the Asperger’s that my sons and I share. What I’ve done with it since then couldn’t have happened without you. You’re a big part of that story.

Please know that you can forgive yourself for how you lived with your pain. Seeing you courageously carry that weight showed me a man who needs to be reminded he’s loved.

A man who’s third son has become someone who has made it his mission to show others and his Dad, that it’s safe to put the weight down. You’ve carried it long enough.

Happy 80th Birthday Papa. We love you, miss you and we’ll get together as soon as this latest conspiracy (theory) has run its course.

Brian Can Help!

Let’s make communicating and building relationships with neurodivergent folks easier together!