5 Horror Novels to Read if You Want to be a Writer

A look at five of my all-time favorite horror reads!

Brian Rowe
Read. Watch. Write. Repeat.

--

Photo by marcusspieske at Pixabay

One of my favorite genres is horror, and I’m always on the hunt for the next great horror novel. What I especially love are the horror books so well-written that they help me in the writing of my own work!

Below are five fantastic works of horror that might inform your writing as well…

1. The Shining, by Stephen King

The Shining is one of my favorite horror novels, and certainly, alongside Misery and The Stand, one of King’s finest works. He masterfully ratchets up the tension throughout the book, giving clear motivations to all his characters and making The Overlook Hotel a whole lot more than just a spookhouse. The book was published in 1977, and odds are King learned from Steven Spielberg’s 1975 film Jaws how to keep the monster hidden…

--

--