1 Year Using a Standing Desk: What I Learned and Why I’m Leaving It

Brian Patterson
4 min readApr 7, 2015

--

“Brian, are … are you standing?” Those were the exact words I didn’t want to hear on our weekly team video chat, but Kat had spotted it instantly. As a remote team that communicates constantly on video chat, we are all acutely attuned to the backgrounds of our coworkers. The fact that Kat could see more of the artwork behind me than normal meant something was off, and she quickly picked up on it.

I wanted to try out a standing desk without the pressure of being judged if I didn’t like it. I was hoping nobody would notice, so if it turned out that it wasn’t for me, it was like it never happened. And if it did work, I’d have this big “surprise” moment where I freak everyone out by telling them I’d been standing for the last 3 months and they were none the wiser. Instead, I was called out on day one.

My standing desk is humble. Good standing desks can run you over $1k, and that is a big commitment for someone who doesn’t know if they’ll like it or not. So, instead I hacked together my own for less than $100 using 2 side tables, angle brackets, and a shelf, all from Ikea. In just a few hours I completed the conversion from a regular desk to a standing desk. It isn’t pretty, but it is functional. Here is what it looks like when someone says, “Hey, look like you are working”:

This experiment started a year ago, so I thought this would be a great time to reflect on what I’ve learned and where I’m headed.

The Honeymoon Phase

I’ve heard from others that the first few weeks can be hard, and that alternating between sitting and standing can help with the transition. With pretty much everything, once my mind is made up, I jump right in, and using a standing desk was no different. I ditched my shoes and stood 8+ hours the first day with no ill effects. Standing at my desk seemed to bother everyone else far more than it did me. And the jokes, they never end. If I had a quarter for every time I heard, “Brian, I have some news for you, you might want to sit down.”

Over the weeks and months, standing became normal and felt really good. I remember telling a trainer at the gym how I had recently switched to a standing desk and was really liking it. He was so happy, saying something about how great it was for my thoracic spine and psoas muscles. I didn’t know exactly what that meant, but it made me feel pretty darn good about myself. The desk and I had a great honeymoon.

Love & Marriage

After the novelty wore off, the standing desk was just a part of my daily life. On a day-to-day basis I didn’t notice or pay attention to it unless someone new walked into my office and inevitably asked a version of, “Whoa … standing desk, huh? You like it?”

I’m now completely comfortable standing all day, and I really only get bothered by it if I’m on a long conference call where I’m mostly listening. In those cases, I seem to become much more aware of my stature and get a bit antsy. When that happens I have a little leaning chair that I’ll use, but that is probably less than an hour a week total.

When I think back to sitting in a chair, I remember that throughout the day I’d need to stand up and stretch or walk-around. That need for readjustment seemed to be far more prevalent in my chair-bound days than when upright. 12 months in and I still love and need to stand while working. When I go work in an office where I have to sit all day, I just feel slightly off.

The 7-Year Itch

All of this leads me to where I am today. While my humble standing desk is an important part of my work identity, my heart has grown fond for another, and I don’t think it will be long before we separate. It’ll be for the best. In front of my desk, almost cruelly, is a half-dismantled treadmill that I intend to spend an upcoming Saturday turning into a treadmill desk.

I switched to a standing desk to help improve my posture and overall health. I didn’t (and don’t) think that sitting all day is what is best for my body. But now, I’m starting to think that just standing isn’t what is best, either. I think we are meant to move slowly throughout the day, so I’m switching to something that’ll allow me to do that.

My standing desk will hold a special place in my heart, but I’m at a place in my life where I’m ready to rack up some serious numbers on my fitbit.

Originally published at experts.allbusiness.com on March 31, 2015.

--

--

Brian Patterson

Into Online Reputation Management (ORM), SEO, Social Media, WordPress, tech, DC sports, etc etc.