How I Grew My Dad’s Side Hustle Into A 6-Figure Business

Part 4: A Simple Side Hustle Becomes A $650,000 Business

CleanLots.com with Brian Winch
2 min readApr 23, 2024
Photo by Chris Kursikowski on Unsplash

I learned how to do an elevator pitch to introduce myself quickly to my prospects, briefly explain the benefits of a litter cleaning service. As the internet became more prevalent, I learned how to set up a social media account, get listed in online directories and search engines, and use SEO (search engine optimization) to help my marketing efforts.

What started out as a side hustle quickly became a full-time income. Along with the marketing, sales and customer service skills, I also learned what type of legal business structure, banking and accounting systems I needed, and how to manage people.

With experience, I became more profitable, and my small Rolodex of clients grew into many. Today I manage an operation that services 150 properties and generates about $650,000 a year in parking lot litter cleaning work.

It’s still a great business because it provides satisfaction that I’m doing my part to reduce the amount of litter in my city. It also provides me with a great lifestyle and now that I’m nearing retirement, I want to share my experience with you because I think that was what my dad would have wanted. I believe he would have been proud of everything I have accomplished. Due to life’s circumstances, he never fully achieved his potential but he did manage to pass on his side hustle idea and now I want to do the same for you. I have written a book that will help you start and operate the business and offer free consultation.

There are no shortages of ideas for side hustles out there and each has its pros and cons. Starting a parking lot litter cleaning business is not for everyone. You need a go-getter attitude and the willingness to learn but it also provides a lot of benefits that your typical side hustle does not. It was definitely one of the best decisions I have made.

Click here for Part 3: Why Pick Up a Side Hustle?

Click here for Part 1: The Origin Story

Click here to check out CleanLots.com — America’s Simplest Business

Photo by Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

--

--

CleanLots.com with Brian Winch

Looking for that perfect side hustle? Then look no further than CleanLots.com - America's Simplest Business