We Are All Interconnected. We Are One.

Bria Rivello
3 min readMay 6, 2023

--

Interconnectedness/oneness quote
New Age Christianity Quote

I have realized that the Universe is teaching me about interconnectedness. In New Thought, which is one of the very progressive forms of Christianity I still study and practice to some extent, it is called “oneness,” which is basically the principle that says that God, ourselves, and all other people and life forms are one, not separate from each other. Up until this point, interconnectedness/oneness was merely an intellectual belief, not a spiritual belief.

Focus on Similarities, Not Differences

Yesterday, I unexpectedly got sent home from my job as a substitute teacher due to a lack of work, which never happens at my large suburban high school. I was originally disappointed about the lack of pay, but I remembered that my United Methodist Church was hosting a National Day of Prayer breakfast. I decided to make good use of my time and attend. I was astonished by the power of being in the room with all different types of Christian denominations. We may have our differences in practice and doctrine, but Divine Love is the common denominator

After the prayer breakfast, I stopped by my family’s cemetery to make some amends for the lies I have told about them and their children when I was addicted to control, anger, and rage. That was when I realized the interconnectedness/oneness of all life. They all contributed to my story, even though I have never met some of them. Just like myself, they were infected by the disease of addiction and family dysfunction.

It was so humbling getting down on the wooden kneelers. I have not been Catholic in 12 years. Even though I am a completely different kind of Christian/spiritual seeker now, I am just seeing the beauty in it.

After arriving home, I ended up having a civil discussion about the transgender issue with my neighbor, who is a Jehovah’s Witness. While I am personally LGBTQ+-affirming and he believes it is a sin, we came to the conclusion that all we have to do is love, be kind, and not judge. We also talked about how we cannot convert someone. He cannot convert transgender people (Note: I do not think they can or should be converted because they were born into the wrong body.) I related to this by saying I cannot convert people who have addictions. We have to focus on our similarities, not our differences because we are all brothers and sisters in Christ.

Separation is a Lie

The idea of separation stems from fear of people who are different, fear of being wrong, and fear of our capabilities as humans. Let’s face it: we are appalled by people who commit heinous crimes because we know we are just as capable. It is interesting how my perception has changed and how much of a kinder, more mature person I have become since I decided to give up on anger, resentment, and victimhood.

--

--

Bria Rivello

Author of “Unveiling the Healing “ & “Unchained Poetry.” Free-spirited South Jersey girl who writes about self-help and spirituality (She/Her/Hers).