Curate your Zettelkasten by Refactoring Notes

Steven Thompson
3 min readMay 31, 2023

--

Image by Manfred Richter from Pixabay.

Niklas Luhmann’s statement that he spent most of his time curating his Zettelkasten¹ should be no surprise to those who have garnered a few hundred notes or more. A Zettelkasten is, after all, an archive comprised of notes taken from reading materials reformatted into our own words.

As any writer knows, these reformulations² take time, and even on a good day, I can spend an hour or more with a quickly passing thought trying to capture the method and mood of a phrase. Once captured, the writing doesn’t automatically become a finished product but a literary residence of my archive to be winnowed and parsed with others into the final creation.

Yesterday, while reviewing an old Zettel note regarding a fitness-tracking software program called TrainingPeaks, I realized I had yet to refactor the notation by copying some of the original Zettel parts into new Zettel statements.³ If you are new to the Zettelkasten methodology, a quick review of refactoring might be in order.

In the Zettelkasten world, a Zettel note attempts to adhere to The Principle of Atomicity,⁴ i.e., one idea, one message. I like to use T-A-P⁵ in the refactoring process. Do I have a Topic, an Angle, and a Point that should be its own story?

My article on fitness-tracking software held a new Topic in the name TrainingPeaks, and numerous Angles to explore in the form of various data tracts the software uses. The data track I mentioned in the original article is the “Chronic Training Load” (CTL) or fitness line.

I create a new Zettel note with the Topic (TrainingPeaks), Angle (Chronic Training Load (CTL), and Point (42 days of Training). CTL is the section of the original article I want to write about, and I have started gathering reference notes regarding Chronic Training Load.

I found seven reference notes that address the point I am trying to make in this new article, i.e., that TrainingPeaks uses a rolling 42-day average of your daily TSS. That CTL is an indicator of your current load capacity. A podcast pointed out that CTL reflects the “absolute load applied” over those 42 days. Finally, I found references I had captured on using CTL to help estimate intensity in future workouts (a different Point altogether) and how CTL is used to determine Training Stress Balance (TSB) (a different Angle).

I still need to write the Zettel note; however, I gathered enough references to add the notation to my writing list, and in one of my morning writing sessions, it will appear for further consideration.

Creating a web of information is accomplished by refactoring notes through your exploration of an idea breaking out new and exciting points discovered along the way.

Thank you for reading.

While coffee may not be my cup of tea, I do have a passion for beautiful jewelry. If you enjoyed reading my article, I invite you to visit Jewelry Art by Linda, where every piece is lovingly crafted by hand with meticulous attention to detail.

Footnotes and References

  1. Rohrer, C. (2020, January 24). Zettelkasten Hubs: A Collection Of Resources On The Zettelkasten Method. Retrieved from https://zettelkasten.de/posts/zettelkasten-hubs/
  2. Luhmann, N. (n.d.). Learning How to Read (977363719 757655603 M. Kuehn, Trans.). Retrieved October 11, 2020, from http://luhmann.surge.sh/learning-how-to-read
  3. Fast, Sascha (April 18, 2023) “Why the Single Note matters.” Zettelkasten.de. https://zettelkasten.de/posts/why-single-note-matters/
  4. Ibid.
  5. Widenhouse, Kathy. “How to Develop a Story Idea.” Medium February 12, 2023. https://medium.com/writers-blokke/how-to-develop-a-story-idea-b8d42576808f

--

--