Long Island, New York

Brian DeMartino
3 min readJan 22, 2022

--

Traveling for work for so many years throughout Long Island has given me the opportunity to see so many beautiful areas that I would never have known even existed. I have always been a very observant person and love seeing different types of architectural designs of homes and landscapes as I travel through different areas. I grew up in Nassau County but have worked a lot in Suffolk and I must say that Suffolk has definitely grown on me. Over the years Nassau County has become very city like in the way that everything is becoming so congested, homes being right on top of one another, retail and restaurants are on major roads with not much room outside of the establishments, and the roads and driving in Nassau really feels like your driving in Manhattan as the years go on.

In Suffolk County, Long Island the homes are much more spaced apart and have tremendous yards. Retail and restaurants are set back away from the major roads that they are on and the vast amount of land, nature and trees make it a much more peaceful setting than the city like scene that Nassau County has become. I really like the parks in Suffolk County to, one of my favorite is Blydenburg Park, that has amazing trails and is so nice to go and relax because it is so big that you have no problem finding a nice peaceful area that you will like. In the summer you can fish, rent boats on the lake, camp on the huge campgrounds, and hike on the trails of the 240 acre park.

Don’t get me wrong there are times I like going to the city but as I get older I am much more attracted to the more peaceful laid back area’s and that is defiantly Suffolk County when it comes to Long Island in my opinion. The thing that I love about Long Island is never being far from the water. For me sitting by the water is like meditation and I always love finding new places to go and relax on my breaks or to do some work with a nice view of the ocean or lakes.

If you live on Long Island and are bored or want to do something different then get in your car and just drive to an area that you have never been before. I guarantee that you find areas that you are sure to go back to. Looking for any suggestions then just email me and I would love to recommend some places!

--

--

Brian DeMartino
0 Followers

Brian DeMartino is a dog trainer and behaviorist on Long Island, NY