Favorite Place

Brianna Heron
2 min readJan 3, 2023

(A Poem)

Photo by James Wheeler on Unsplash

There’s a place in my mind
That I frequently run to
For what reason?
I don’t entirely know

It’s a distant memory now
One where I’m not sure why I still remember
Perhaps it was the scenery
Cicadas buzzing, fishing lines bobbing
Salty sweat pouring into my eyes that I don’t wipe away
My eyes remain on the water
I fight through the burning eye pain with a smile on my face
I waited months to come back here
To be standing by this pond
The sun beating on my skin
Surely to give me an awful tan
But I don’t have it in me to care

Or perhaps it’s who was with me
He had a fisherman hat on
To cover up his balding head
His white tank up was long overdue to be tossed with its small holes and numerous stains
He stood beside me
His eyes crinkling behind his thick glasses
He swayed side to side
Always had to be moving even if it was slight
As we stood together in silence

--

--

Brianna Heron

Writer of flash fiction, creative nonfiction, poems, and short stories.