How I Achieved My European Dream: From India to a High-Paying Job in Europe without masters

Techstark
3 min readSep 24, 2023

--

My journey began at TCS, where I secured a job through campus placement. This was a huge deal for my family because I was the first engineer in our clan. However, I carried a heavy financial burden of about 13 lakhs, which included education loans and some family debts.

I endured a grueling four-hour daily commute to work on a support project as a Java developer. After six months, I switched to a project closer to my home, and six months later, I moved again to a project with a client in Amsterdam. I spent eight months on this project, and then an exciting opportunity came up: a chance to work onsite for two months, followed by another seven-month stint.

Leaving my family behind was tough, but the support of my colleagues and friends made it more bearable. When the project ended, I was sent back to India, and my company had no more European opportunities. But I was determined to continue working in Europe, so during the COVID-19 pandemic, I started looking for new job prospects. Its horrific experience to change job in covid when all the world is in panic

I used LinkedIn to apply for jobs, and rejection became a familiar experience as I faced over 200 job refusals. My total work experience was only 3 years and 10 months, but I didn’t give up. I kept applying to at least 20 jobs every day and worked on improving my resume and crafting effective cover letters, which are crucial for European job applications.

Finally, my efforts paid off when I received a call from a startup in Berlin. I passed the interview and got a job offer, but it was taken back a week later due to the company’s COVID-related issues. I was in a panic since I had already resigned from my previous job. However, I had a backup plan — I had another job offer from a bank in Pune with a 250% salary increase.

Even with these good offers, my goal remained the same: I wanted to work in Europe for a better work-life balance. I continued my job hunt and focused on less competitive cities in Germany. Eventually, I got an interview with a major MNC in Erfurt, Germany. After going through five rounds of interviews, I got the job offer. Despite my past experience in Berlin, I decided to trust the MNC (which was in a small city) and took the risk, resigning from my current startup job.

Getting a visa became urgent, so I sought help from a consultancy firm. However, they initially gave me incorrect information, claiming that the visa office was closed due to COVID-19. I did my own research and sorted out the visa application process. Two weeks later, I finally got my visa after a year of rejections and challenges. My Parents were in tears of joy and I finally achieved my goal. I learned a lot from this journey.

I never gave up on my goal. With consistent effort and hard work, I proved to myself that determination pays off. I hope my experience helps someone to get motivated and believe in consistency.

--

--

Techstark

Software Engineer, living in Germany. Passionate about technology but also love to write about life, travel and health.