My Top 10 Baseball Movies

Matthew Brindisi
6 min readAug 8, 2019

--

In light of the recent news that the Yankees will play the White Sox next year at the Field of Dreams field..or next to it..or it hasn’t been built yet. They are apparently building a new field to play on because Aaron Judge would knock down that stadium during BP. Here are the original dimensions:

“StiLl bIgGer tHan YaNkEe StAdiUm

-Everyone

Did I construct this meme correctly? Not sure.

Anyway, I was inspired and I wanted to make a top 10 list of MY favorite baseball movies. Mostly because Field of Dreams is getting slandered on Twitter dot com.

10. Rookie of the Year

Every kid’s dream. To break their arm, become an MLB pitcher and befriend Gary Busey. Honestly what’s not to love about this movie. You have Marv from home alone (also directed by him) playing one of the best baseball characters of all time: Brickma. You have some unreal baseball names across the board like Henry Rowengartner and Chet the Rocket Steadman as well. This movie was a huge part of my childhood.

9. Summer Catch

Okay this is a biased entry and please read on after you read my explanation. My 3 favorite things in the world at 12 years old were:

  1. Baseball
  2. Cape Cod
  3. Jessica Biel

If you think I’m leaving this movie of this list you are crazy. But to be fair I have some problems with this film. Freddie Prinze Jr left his perfect game to meet Jessica Biel at the airport. Buddy, get the last out and then go. Also Dr. Cox from Scrubs was the scout that gave him a contract and drove to the airport too. That’s not really a problem but it needed to be said.

8. The Natural

I’ll be honest. This is on here so my dad doesn’t kill me. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a fantastic movie. I’m just not always going to flip it on when I see it on the ol’ Fios guide. Great acting, great baseball movie, just not my favorite. I think I just lost anyone over 40 who is reading this.

7. Moneyball

I’ll start by saying I read the book before I saw the movie. Not a big deal. I think the biggest surprise on this list is that I’ve actually read a book. Both were great and really eye opening to the cut throat world of an MLB front office. Jonah Hill and Brad Pitt absolutely crushed it in this one. Also apparently Jeremy Giambi is kind of a dick.

6. Everybody Wants Some!!

Think Dazed and Confused(same director) meets Sandlot. This movie was so damn funny and all of the actors in it looked like they’ve actually picked up a baseball before. What’s not to love. If you haven’t seen this, go ahead and do that. You will not regret it.

5. Hardball

This might cause some controversy but it’s a great movie. Keanu Reeves as a booze bag/gambling addict/baseball coach in inner city Chicago helps kids to get some money to fund his gambling addiction, but ultimately, dare i say it, helps himself. G Baby getting shot in this movie still gets me every time and Keanu’s speech at the end. Dear god, you aren’t a human being if you didn’t tear up. Fun fact: Michael B Jordan is in it.

4. The Sandlot

I’ve seen this movie so many times and I feel like I watch it differently each time. What once was a movie that got me off my couch to play some stick ball with my friends is now a nostalgia trip like no other. All the kids were hilarious, especially Hamilton Porter. Fat, ginger, master wordsmith. Ham carried that movie to the finish line and James Earl Jones closed it out like Mo in the 9th. I could go on all day about some of my favorite lines.

“He’s in deep shit!” used to jolt me like no other movie quote did back in the day.

James Earl Jones calling Babe Ruth “Oh George?”. Such a power move.

Also the assistant coach from the Replacements stealing the Hank Aaron card dressed up as Babe Ruth.

3. Field of Dreams

Such a great movie and the slander needs to stop. For the Love of the Game sucked so let’s talk about that instead. Field of Dreams is a classic and rightfully so. A story of a man who gets to make amends with his departed father after a lifetime of regret. It’s about redemption, forgiveness and the relationship between father and son. If you have ever enjoyed a catch with your dad, this movie has to be close to the top of your list.

2. 61*

This is one of my favorite movies of all time. Not just baseball. Directed by Billy Crystal and premiering on HBO, 61* was the story of the home run race between Mickey Mantle and Roger Maris. Not only is this a great movie but it’s sneaky funny and had the best casting in movie history. Barry Pepper is literally a reincarnated Roger Maris and Thomas Jane sounded exactly how I imagined Mickey Mantle sounding. Mickey calling the Babe a fat fuck and this one:

1. Major League

The best baseball movie ever. Laugh out loud funny. A legit pitcher in Charlie Sheen on the mound, Deion Sanders movie double Wesley Snipes, and the best coach in movie history. Manager Lou Brown looked, acted, and sounded like a baseball coach. It would take me 40 years to grow the mustache he had in this movie. All that in a baseball movie and I didn’t even mention the best part: Bob Uecker.

This movie would be #1 based off the quotes from the broadcast booth in that movie:

“I’m Harry Doyle along with my good friend and partner, Monty…What’s his name”

“He’s not the best color man in the league for nothing folks”

“One hit? That’s all we got. One goddam hit”

And the GOAT call

“Haywood swings and crushes one towards South America. Tomlinson is gonna need a Visa to catch this one, it is out of here, and there is nothing left but a vapor trail”

I could go on quoting Major League all day but I have to end it there. That’s my list. Embrace debate and let’s argue about some harmless baseball movie list. I’m so ready to defend Summer Catch.

@Brinallday

--

--