The Farewell (2019)

Brittany
1 min readAug 24, 2020

--

Three weeks ago I started my A24 kick with The Farewell (2019), a dramedy by writer-director Lulu Wang. My first film of Wang’s, it shows how Awkwafina (Nora Lum)’s character Billi and her family deal with the news of her grandmother’s chronic illness. I avoided seeing this movie for a while because it didn’t initially appeal (read: seeing movies in theaters is expensive) and it just seemed so sad. Why would I pay to cry when I can do it at home for free? Fortunately, I’m glad I finally saw it because it reminded me of how much I like movies with ensemble casts, especially ones exploring cultures different from my own. It’s a great way to learn about multiple generations at once. It was also beautifully shot; I like the cool blue tones. I’m interested to see what Wang has in store for us in the future.

--

--

Brittany

Brittany watches and reviews a movie a day. That’s it. Really. 🎥