Thursday

Kristen Britt
2 min readJan 18, 2024

--

created by Kristen Britt using a Canva template

Recently, I don’t think about Thursdays much.

Before 2020 (and a little bit into 2020), I always looked forward to Thursday nights. I’m not a night owl by any stretch of the imagination, but as a performer I have to push myself sometimes to maintain my energy for shows. I love doing shows. I just need to muster up a bit more mental and physical energy before the show than most people. Sorry for the diversion. Anyway, I used to perform in a regular musical improv show in Chicago on Thursday nights. I loved doing those shows. I loved performing with my castmates and spending time with friends. I loved singing and being silly. I even remember my last show! Thursday, March 12, 2020.

Another lovely thing about a Thursday night activity is that you can worry a little less about staying up too late (Did I mention I’m not a night owl?) because you only have to make it through one more work day before you can get a little rest on Saturday. Thursday nights are like more chill Friday nights. Lower stakes. And maybe some discounts.

Many years ago, when I had the ability to watch broadcast television as it aired, I was definitely watching a Thursday night lineup. Grey’s Anatomy. Scandal. And earlier, Friends, The Naked Truth (It starred Téa Leoni. It was weird. Look it up.) A cozy night of quality (and not as quality) tv was a joy to experience. To get lost in a story for an hour or half hour, with friends or family or alone, with dinner or snacks. Bliss.

So, Thursday nights have historically been positive for me in many ways. And still the thought of a Thursday makes me feel warm inside. Even the word Thursday brings a smile to my face and a feeling of comfort to my heart.

I guess I miss the way Thursday used to be. But I still love a Thursday.

--

--

Kristen Britt

I’m a writer who loves learning and sharing new things. I love to travel. I can often be found exploring nature and taking photos. kristenbritt.com