Wednesday

Kristen Britt
2 min readJan 17, 2024

--

photo taken and edited by Kristen Britt

Welcome to the middle of the week!

Once I make it to Wednesday, I feel like I’ve got a grasp on the week. I’ve accomplished a few things already and I know what’s expected of me for the rest of the week.

We know that many people like to celebrate the arrival of a Wednesday at work. We even have a funny saying to highlight the day. And if we have a “Hump Day” guy at work, we have something to look forward to or roll our eyes at at least one day a week.

Of course, many of us have to give some extra thought to spelling Wed-nes-day.

Working on Wednesdays is pretty typical and, for me, I expect Wednesday to be my most productive day of the week. I try not to schedule appointments of any kind on Wednesdays. I like to leave a day with no distractions and Wednesday is a good choice for me.

One of the best things about Wednesday is the letter W. This is especially important to those of us who write fun or quirky or casual marketing, social media or advertising copy. Find an appropriate ‘w’ word, add it to ‘Wednesday’ and you’ve got copy!

Wistful Wednesday! Witchy Wednesday! Wandering Wednesday!

Ooh! I do like snappy alliteration. And alliterative poetry or prose makes me feel like I’m using the lessons my English teachers taught.

Would we wish for warm winds on winter walks? What about wisdom and whimsy for writers? Who wouldn’t want wonderful waffles?

Or something like that.

What do I feel on a Wednesday? Calm and creative. Settled but hopeful. Not too bad for a weekday.

--

--

Kristen Britt

I’m a writer who loves learning and sharing new things. I love to travel. I can often be found exploring nature and taking photos. kristenbritt.com