11 Benefits of Being an Introvert

Brittney Moffatt
3 min readOct 15, 2017

--

When I was younger, I used to hate how shy and closed off I was. I would envy people who had a lot of friends and could just talk to anyone. I was your typical introvert who always kept to their self and was actually scared to talk to new people.

Now, I’ve learned to accept that I like to keep to myself. Plus, as I’ve gotten older, it gets easier to break free from some of my shyness.

Being an introvert may not always be easy, but it can have it’s ups. Sometimes, you gotta look at the bright side, right?

1. You rarely feel lonely

I can count on my hand how many times I’ve felt alone. Mostly because I really like being alone. I have the most fun simply by myself!

2. You know a lot about people

I have figured out so many people around me. I observe things about people that sometimes they don’t even see in themselves.

3. You know a lot about yourself

Being observant doesn’t stop with others. I often find myself analyzing myself!

4. You have a great imagination

I can come up with some crazy stories in my alone time. When I’m daydreaming, know I’m in a completely different world.

5. You’re a great listener

When my friends are communicating with me, I’m usually on full alert. The best way to know and observe people is to listen to them.

6.Socializing is more special to you

I’m always fully there when I’m hanging out with friends. I know that eventually I’ll want to go back to my shell, so the times I actually feel like hanging out, I go all out!

7. Thinking is second nature

I think about a lot of things. I’m constantly in my head thinking about my next move. Whether it be in my career, my relationship, or my life. Every step I make, I’ve thought it well out.

8. Your shyness is kind of cute

Who doesn’t swoon at the cute little wallflower?

9. You’re proud when you get over some social anxiety

Lately, I’ve noticed it becoming to easier to talk to people. It makes me proud when I speak up for myself after years of being too afraid to.

10. You value your close relationships

I don’t have a lot of friends. But, the few friends I do have mean a lot to me.

11. You know no matter what, you’re awesome!

No one’s perfect, but you are pretty close! Celebrate your introvert-ness!

We all have our quirks. Mine is that I tend to keep to myself. I’m constantly working on being a more social person, but at the same time, I’m pretty great how I currently am! And guess what? So are you! What do you love about being an introvert? Share it in the comments!

--

--