How to hide specific place labels, icons, and trails in Mapbox Studio

Britton Deets
4 min readAug 10, 2023

Mapbox Studio is one of my favorite tools for creating maps and exploring different ways to view geographical data. I’ve used their web and mobile SDK in many projects and love their product.

Recently, I was asked to solve a specific problem related to data display within Mapbox Studio, which is primarily designed to style already existing data. The requirement:

How do we hide specific labels and icons, but leave the remaining icons/labels in the same category visible?

It’s actually a very simple process. Here are the steps:

How to hide place labels

In Mapbox Studio, select the place of interest

Select the icon that says T poi-label

In the side panel that pops up, titled T poi-label select Text field

Select Style with data conditions. Select name in the popup. It should look like this:

--

--

Britton Deets

Software Engineer, traveler, writer, surfer. I write about my interests and things I learn from the world and my work.