The Case for Seclusion

Benjamin Robinson
3 min readJan 19, 2020

Seclusion is so often shunned and stigmatized. Many in today’s society consider it to be a form of dysfunction due to mental illness or misanthropy. For others, including myself, time spent in seclusion is when we’re at our most functional. This is nothing to apologize for.

I just finished reading the book Quiet by Susan Cain yesterday afternoon. This book impacted my self-awareness in such a profound way. I’ve never felt more comfortable in my own skin than I do today; this is only increasing as I consume more books, exercise, and practice general self-improvement.

I’m a tried-and-true introvert who is never more comfortable than in a state of seclusion. Susan Cain’s book represents my life in more ways than I could have imagined. Everyone, especially those who feel ostracized because of their introversion, should read Quiet.

I’ve often felt guilty about my desire for seclusion in recent years. I used to always force myself to attend rowdy social gatherings under the false pretense of normalcy. I’d tell myself that I’d be “missing out” if I chose to decline an invitation from someone. I’d be made to feel guilty for leaving outings early. Going to sleep always sounded like a more pleasant activity than continuing to engage in drunken banter with loose acquaintances (In my experience, the word “friend” is generally overused and inaccurate).

--

--