A very unique Tarot Deck

Brokenships LA
3 min readApr 9, 2017

--

This is an artifact that comes from a relationship that took place between 1991 and 1992 in Maryland.

After high school, I dated this person I worked with who lived in another state. He pressured me to move in with him or he would break it off with me. I did and it was a disaster. My mother had predicted it would only last two months, and I hated that she was right. At one point, early in the relationship, he gave me a deck of tarot cards. He told me that each person’s tarot deck has their own energy and is very personal to them, and that he could tell if his own deck had been picked up or moved. I had struggled finding work there, and things were going badly. I wanted to leave. He knew things weren’t going well and did something unthinkable.

One morning, after I had just gotten a shower, he called to me from the hallway. I got dressed and came out to see what he wanted. He was standing on a chair in the doorway of the guest room with a belt tied to the transom window frame above him. As I walked down the hall toward him, he exclaimed “You are killing me!” and jumped off the chair, hanging himself. I tried desperately to loosen the belt, which didn’t work. Hanging there, he began fighting my efforts and started to push, hit, then strangle me. I couldn’t believe what was happening. I broke free from his choke hold and managed to get the chair under his feet, helping him onto it. I was in complete shock. I was a sobbing, blubbering mess for hours.

He removed the phones from the apartment, locked me inside, and went to work. I somehow managed to find a phone to plug in, and I called my friends to come get me. I moved out within two days, and never looked back. I later called his mother and told her what had happened. She said to me “Why are you telling me this?” I told her because I thought he needed help. People don’t just do things like that. I don’t know why I kept the deck for all these years, other than I felt that it is mine, part of my story, and I couldn’t just throw it away. It is time to let it go now.

--

--

Brokenships LA

Museum of Broken Relationships, Los Angeles. Now Open at 6751 Hollywood Blvd, LA, CA 90028!