Your Favorite Reality Show is Scripted and Other Soul-Crushing Facts.

Brooke Metro
3 min readMay 21, 2019
(via nat.com )

Fake news is everywhere. And, so are fake shows. I won’t name names, but let’s just say, I’ve worked on reality shows and they ain’t real. Not by a long shot. Thank. God.

What is real, is our obsession with “reality” shows. I have a habit of claiming that I don’t watch realty TV. Such drivel. Waste of time. I would never. Except HGTV . But, that’s different because that’s research for when I host my own design show one day… with my best friend Christina Anstead… of Flip or Flop (Flipping Friends has a very nice ring to it). So, that doesn’t count. And, Ellen’s Game of Games is technically a game show. And, the Masked Singer, well that’s a musical mystery series. And, America’s Funniest Videos is… yeah, I totally watch RT.

Even knowing what I know, I’m guilty. Most recently, I got sucked right into Selling Sunset. What I thought was a real estate show turned out to be the circus of the century but now I’m in too deep to quit. One actress on the show (emphasis on the word actress) claims the series is completely off the cuff, and that they only do retakes to polish things here and there. I’m pretty sure I saw her nose lengthen right before my eyes.

I was a stand in on a reality show and almost none of it was authentic. In fact, one point of contention threaded throughout the…

--

--

Brooke Metro

Writer, introvert, singer, songwriter, movie buff, neat freak, interior design obsessed, perpetually-blooming liver of life.