Sickly

Brooke Price
2 min readMar 25, 2016

--

Soooo… I’m better now, but a couple weeks ago i was close to potentially losing my left eye. I had a small cold for a few days, no big deal. Then I woke up one morning before work and the whole left side of my face was completely swollen. No pain present, just major swelling. Thanking baby Jesus I work for 5 doctors!! Dr. Veatch examined my eye and pressed on it ver gently and it immediately sent a shot of pain down my face. He was very concerned and sent me to get a CT scan. He was very afraid that I had occipital Cellulitis, which can potentially eat away at your eye socket. GREAT… I’m going to doctors out the ass and now your telling me I could lose my eye!?!?! WTF right now. So as in sitting in the waiting area for the CT scan I begin to think the following:

IF I do lose my eye, I can get a fake eye and get whatever color I want. Which means I can have two eye colors… WIN!!! Seriously though… IM such a dork for thinking that.

Anyway, thank the heavens it was just an extreme sinus infection. I was out on a Z-pak for 5 days, Clindamaycin 300mg 1 pill PO TID for 10 days and an antibiotic eye drop until gone. BLAH!! Keep in mind the antibiotics I’m on are so bad for my system, I should have just lived in a bubble while taking them. Time has passed and after I finished all oral antibiotics… not 3 days later my eye symptoms start to return…. HOLY HELL!! So now I’m on an antibiotic again for a week. WAH WAH!! But at least I’m not losing my eye!! Minor set back and frustration, but I gotta keep going. On the plus side-

I had my follow up with the ORTHO doc. My knee has been doing great and he says right now, there is no point for surgery!! I just need to call him again if it starts to act up and I can get another shot. He has a 3 shot rule. Once you have had 3 steroid shots and it hasn’t completely resolved the issue, that is when he recommends surgery. So, let’s just hope I never have to have a 3rd shot. My next two thinks medical quests will be the OBGYN and MAMMOGRAM!! Ugh!

This was after 3 days of medicine!

--

--