Subjected To Prison, Defined by a Brother’s Love

Photos by

Pete Brook
Vantage

--

Isadora Kosofsky

With a loving but struggling mother and a near-absent father, two siblings find strength in one another. Incarcerated as kids, Vinny and David grow beyond the prison experience to become the family they want to be

BEYOND PRISON PICTURES

Isadora Kosofsky insists her project Vinny and David is not centered on narratives of incarceration.

“It is,” she says, “about a family and the battle between love and loss.”

Given that approximately a quarter of the images in the series were shot inside a locked facility, that initially seems a strange claim. Furthermore, as I look through Vinny and David, it seems as if the only certainty in the lives of they and their family is uncertainty, specifically an uncertainty brought about by imprisonment and its collateral effects.

Vinny and David is a project that demands we feel, as well as look. We need to spend time with Kosofsky’s subjects. If we do, Kosofsky’s point that these two boys are more than their worst moments becomes patently clear. David and Vinny are not prisoners, but as young people who happen to have spent time in prison. The distinction is important. Kosofsky insists that the distinction paves the way for her audience, us, to empathize and connect.

Vinny’s first meal in the detention center cafeteria.
Left: Vinny lies on his cell bunk. Right: Vinny talks to another juvenile.
Vinny’s mother Eve comforts him during visitation at the detention center.

YOUNG PHOTOGRAPHER, YOUNG SUBJECTS

Kosofsky met the younger brother, Vinny, first. It was late on a Tuesday night in a New Mexico juvenile detention center. As he posed for his mug shot, Vinny turned to the police officer to check he was standing on the right spot. Kosofsky watched Vinny enter the D-unit and silently sit in front of the television. He picked an isolated chair.

“It is about a family and the battle between love and loss.” — Kosofsky

“When I met Vinny, I was 18 years old,” says Kosofsky. “I had previously documented young males in three different juvenile detention centers and youth prisons. Photographing my subjects in a detention environment limited their identities for I could only show a fragment of their lives. Vinny stood out amongst many of the males I met. He was the youngest boy in his unit, just age 13, but full of wisdom and sensitivity.”

Vinny was detained because he stabbed the man who was assaulting his mother.

“When my mom was being beat up, I was so scared. I wanted to defend my mom,” Vinny told Kosofsky. “I’m tired of seeing my mom get hurt.”

Eve holds her youngest son Michael in the pool at a motel.

While Vinny was in the juvenile detention center, his older brother David, then age 19, was released from a nearby adult facility. David had been in and out of juvenile and adult correctional systems.

David had been introduced to drug dealing at age 10. After his father went to prison, David was placed in foster care. At 14, David’s mother, Eve, was given custody, and David joined Vinny and two younger siblings, Michael and Elycia.

Left: David, then 19, sits in the recreation yard of the jail. Right: David uses the phone in jail.
Felicia and their 10-month-old daughter Lily see David through video visitation.

“David and Vinny have experienced deep loss and betrayal but yearn for love and a restored family,” says Kosofsky. “In the midst of turmoil, Vinny and David try to assume the hopefulness of youth. Vinny describes David as a father figure, and David views Vinny as the only person who appreciates him.”

A family portrait of David, then 13, Vinny, then 8, and Michael, then 3.

COVERAGE AND RESPONSE

The series Vinny and David has received recent coverage in TIME and Slate. And plaudits.

Soon after the TIME feature, I received an email from a previously incarcerated man who described himself as an artist-activist. His opinion would suggest that Kosofsky was successful in her efforts to build a connection between the brothers and her audience.

“Unlike much work out there, this project shows humanity,” emailed the former prisoner. “People who have not been incarcerated may not realize the impact of this project but it is revolutionary. I have looked through a lot of photography, art and writing about incarceration. Kosofsky shows incarcerated males in a sensitive light. The pictures are heartbreaking and necessary. For a young girl, only 18, to have the courage to do a project like this is mind blowing. It is a rebellion.”

Coming from somebody familiar with the system, such an endorsement is better than anything I could give.

In spite of widespread coverage of Vinny and David in mainstream media, she and I were determined to produce something here on the blog, so I pitched a few questions that try to needle the gaps in the previous pieces and to bring us up to date on how Vinny, David and the family are doing now.

Eve cries after learning that the court will not allow Vinny to live with her and has ordered him to live with his paternal aunt.

Q & A

Prison Photography (PP): You’ve mentioned a particular an ineffable connection with Vinny. How did that create moments for you to make powerful photographs?

Isadora Kosofsky (IK): In a prison environment that often promotes restraint, Vinny immediately revealed vulnerability, and tears fell down his cheeks as he spoke to me.

PP: He was different.

IK: The more intimate I am with my subjects, the more affective the image. Individuals, especially young males who are typically guarded, show vulnerability in front of the camera when they sense commitment and earnestness. I must share in my subjects’ struggles over a sustained period of time in order to forge a bond. I knew it would be a lengthy process before I could photograph moments from David’s life when his “mask,” as he calls it, was off.

Michael playfully punches his sister Elycia’s cheek.
Left: David and Felicia have been together four years. Right: With a warrant out for his arrest, David cries in fear that police will find him and take him away from his family.
David and Felicia smile as they teach Lily to walk.

IK: I can’t drop into someone’s life, take pictures and then leave with those memories. The relationships I form with the individuals I photograph are more important to me than the actual image making.

Since I have never been incarcerated, I initially couldn’t empathize with Vinny’s incarceration. No one can say they know what it felt like for Vinny, at age 13, to be taken from his mother, handcuffed in the back of a police car, brought to a unit of strangers and handed a pillow. Yet, partaking in his and David’s life over time allowed me to recognize shared characteristics and emotions that brought me even closer to them.

Eve places her head on David’s back, while he draws a picture of a clown in his notebook.

PP: Do you think the power of the work might also rest on the fact that Vinny (as well as David and the family) is representative of so many children effected negatively by criminal justice in America?

IK: I hope the impact of the work lies in my intent to document Vinny and David’s story as I would that of my own family. I didn’t choose to photograph them because I felt that their situation was emblematic of a larger social issue. I chose to photograph them because I have an affinity to the love between two brothers who happened to both experience incarceration.

Above all, I wanted this project to command a humanistic standpoint. I feel that there is already so much work about the system itself. Shooting solely at the jail site made it difficult for me to create a documentation that the greater society could identify with. I wanted to photograph Vinny and David in a relatable manner so that those looking at the images might feel that they could be their friend, sibling or son.

Michael and Elycia (Vinny and David’s younger siblings) in the back of Eve’s car.
Left: Vinny’s mother Eve visits him after he was placed in custody of his aunt, who lives 3 hours away. Right: Vinny and David play with the hose.
Vinny, Michael and Elycia play together on a trampoline. This is Vinny’s first visit with his siblings since beginning his new life with his aunt.

PP: Why did you want to shoot in a prison? Frankly, it’s the last thing on the mind of most 18 year olds.

IK: Ever since I was 15, I wanted to photograph inside a detention center. Unfortunately, due to my status as a minor, the administrators of the domestic facilities to which I submitted proposals rejected me. However, when I turned 18 and resubmitted my applications to the same facilities, some responded favorably, and I was granted access.

I draw inspiration for my projects from childhood and personal experience. I began photographing when I was about 14, focusing mainly on the lives of the elderly. Around this time, I had a group of friends for whom delinquency resulted in police intervention. Some of them had been in juvenile detention, while others were on probation or had just been released from boys’ disciplinary camp.

“We need more humanistic photography of incarcerated and formerly incarcerated youth. […] When we reject them visually, we participate in reenacting their trauma.” — Kosofsky

My friend and I would meet at a shopping mall, where many teenagers gathered every Friday night, and they would tell me about their experiences with the juvenile justice system. I became particularly close to one male, and we began to spend time together outside our social group. He was the emotionally present listener whom I deeply needed at that time in my life. Unfortunately, my friend was arrested, and I lost contact with him.

Almost a year later, as I was photographing elderly women in retirement homes, I began to envision new projects and started to write proposals to correctional facilities. Even though 18 is young, I never thought of my age as a deterrent. I consciously wanted to be a young person photographing other young people.

“Relationships I form with the individuals I photograph are more important to me than the actual image making.” — Kosofsky

PP: How have your thoughts about the prison industrial complex changed over the course of the work?

IK: One aspect that has struck me profoundly is that when one member is incarcerated, the whole family is too. As a relative or friend, one is powerless to intervene, waiting hours for phone calls, weeks for visits and years for legal decisions and then release, sometimes with an unknown date.

Incarceration is, paradoxically, a solitary and collective experience. Detainment isn’t localized just to a facility, for it leaves profound psychological effects, as it did on Vinny and David’s development. When David was cycling in and out of jail, a looming fear of loss hovered over the entire family.

Vinny, now 15, and David, now 21, lay down at night after spending the day together. “Vinny broke into my heart”” says David when asked about their bond.

PP: What can photography do, if anything, in the face of mass incarceration?

IK: I don’t know what photography can do in the face of mass incarceration. Every documentary photographer wants his or her images to repair the world. Ever since I shot my first picture, I have been guilty of this idealism. I strongly feel that a form of change occurs every time a viewer internalizes poignant images. We need more humanistic photography of incarcerated and formerly incarcerated youth. They are often individuals who come from troubled homes, and when we reject them visually and orally, we participate in reenacting their trauma.

We need to stop making their stories that of “others” and make their lives part of ours. When people look at the photographs of Vinny and David, I can only hope they empathize. I would then feel I have accomplished what I told this family I would do.

Felicia prepares Lily for bed.
Left: Vinny hangs out with David, Felicia and their child Lily. Right: Vinny has grown into adolescence over the period of time Kosofsky photographed the project.
David, Eve, and Vinny huddle together in the parking lot outside the courthouse after David is proven innocent on his charges.

PP: How is the family doing today?

IK: Vinny, who just turned 16, has moved in with David, who now has a job and lives in his own apartment. David is committed to his role as a father. Both brothers are trying to establish a peaceful life after a traumatic upbringing and are optimistic that they will succeed. Healing is a slow process.

Vinny and David stand together as the New Mexico sky darkens before a summer storm.

Originally published at Prison Photography.

Isadora Kosofsky is a documentary photographer based in Los Angleles. Follow her on Instagram and Twitter.

Follow Vantage on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. If you enjoyed reading this, please click “Recommend” below. This will help to share the story with others.

--

--

Pete Brook
Vantage

Writer, curator and educator focused on photo, prisons and power. Sacramento, California. www.prisonphotography.org