Byron Emile Brooks Kelly
1 min readAug 26, 2017

--

“Being Intelligent in a Third World Country”

The most damaging issue, situation, or limitation, etc, an intelligent person faces in Latin America is that intelligent people are seen as threat not an asset, not a benefit, which is completely preposterous.

As a university student who is openly interested in participating in my community, my country, I am precluded from participating as an individual with a mind. I am only allowed to be a robot. If I try to think for myself, draw my own conclusions, I am usually secluded from participating. This is tremendously frustrating for me. Because I have a voice and I deserve to be heard and my thoughts deserve pondering and inclusion in my society’s debate of what is taking place.

I am so grateful I came across Medium, and in the following months I hope to enrichen this incredible platform. God bless you all. It’s totally a privilege and an honor.

Sincerely,

Byron Emile Brooks Kelly

--

--

Byron Emile Brooks Kelly

I am a university students from Honduras. I am tremendously interested in liberal arts, technology, and the entire world that surrounds me.